Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Burnt Orange Writer Has No Need To Apologize For Support Of Iraq War As People Must Follow Conscience—I Don’t Lament My 2000 Nader Vote

A writer on the Burnt Orange Report here in Texas recently made a post apologizing for his initial support of the Iraq War.

While he was certainly free to make that post, I felt he had no reason to do so. He supported the war based on his conscience and his best guess at the time. It’s all we can ask of anybody. 

It’s one thing to be mad at the dishonest people who started the war, it’s another thing to bear a grudge against one person doing his best in a difficult world.  

I voted for Ralph Nader in 2000. While because of the Electoral College it did not matter so much in Texas, I’m certain I would have done the same if still living in the battleground state of Ohio. I lived in Ohio up until 1998.

I’m asked sometimes by friends if I regret my vote for Nader in 2000. I don’t. I did the best I could at the time.

There is often pressure to conform to certain views in the Texas left blog world. (And, of course, in the rest of the world as well.)  The hell with that I say. People must do as their conscience guides them to do.

 

May 13, 2007 Posted by | Blogging, Politics, Texas | 4 Comments

Bibas Cafe On 5600 Block Of Memorial In Houston Has Pictures Of M.L. King & J.F.K Hanging Up Inside Establishment

So if in Houston, eat at Bibas Cafe on the 5600 block of Memorial.

May 13, 2007 Posted by | Good People, Houston | Leave a comment