Texas Liberal

All People Matter

How Is It That I Retain My Faith In Democracy Despite The Idiocy Of Daily Life?

How is it that I retain my faith in democracy despite the idiocy one observes each day in life?

It can be hard to keep trust in the judgements of the people. The people often conduct themselves in a misguided fashion.

One way that I retain my belief in democracy is by striking a balance in the extent to which I interact with people.

For example, while I enjoy going to the Houston Astros baseball game along with all the other baseball fans, I also enjoy sitting up in the top row far away from others.

In this way, I am both with the people and apart from the people.

You see an example of this in the picture above. You see that I am in the best seats in the house.

I can view the people in an abstract and philosophical manner from such a vantage point.

I have no desire to be removed from the masses. I’m happy to enter the stadium through the same gates as everybody else. I am fine with waiting in line to get my nachos.

Yet, of course, there is only so much one can take. That is why I take my nachos up to the cheap seats.

April 26, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Well, I have to admitt this just about parallels the way I interact in many situations. At times I wish I was more gregarious but I just can’t pull it off. At 75 I don’t think that is going to change very much and holding the political and social views I so doesn’t do very much to enhance any interaction with what should be my peer group.

    Comment by Jerry C. | April 26, 2010

  2. Yep—When I went to parties in college I would bring a book. I did not want to sit at home, but I did not always want to talk to folks.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | April 29, 2010


Leave a comment