Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Dogs Playing Poker Paintings Over 100 Years Old—An Example Of Getting It Right

Above is one of the famous of the Dogs Playing Poker painting.

People make fun of these paintings, but they were created over 100 years ago and are still in people’s minds.

I’m not certain that any blog post I write will still be around in 100 years. Most of us won’t create anything that will still be around in 100 years.

The Dogs Playing Poker series has 16 paintings in total. They were painted by Cassius Marcellus Coolidge in the early 1900’s. They purpose of the series was to sell cigars.

Cassius Marcellus Coolidge lived 1844-1934. Here is information about his life.

I don’t know if Dogs Playing Poker is great art, but it has passed the test of time. The pictures make people happy and don’t hurt anybody.

Anybody who can create something that lasts and that makes people laugh has done something right.

In 2005, two of the original paintings sold for $590,000.

Here is a gallery of paintings by Mr. Coolidge.

Below—His Station And Four Aces.

September 29, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. do you think they had the same deck of cards that stix brought once?

    Comment by bill brady | September 29, 2009

  2. He said on Facebook that he has the painting at the top of this post in his home.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | October 1, 2009

  3. stix in on facebook? is that legal?

    Comment by bill brady | October 1, 2009

  4. Pictures of Dogs playing poker are classic

    Comment by Poker NZ | October 7, 2009

  5. Amazing picture, I love it!

    Comment by juegos en linea | February 12, 2010

  6. It seems earlier versions on this subject hung in the LA County Courthouse cafeteria through the 1959’s and 60’s. As I recall there was a pair of paintings in oak frames painted by a saloon caretaker named Old Smith. One of the pictures had bullet holes in it.

    Comment by Joseph Trento | April 25, 2010

  7. I have like eight of these pictures all different that my grandpaw bought for his dad from the man painting them off the street, I don’t know how much they are worth but I keep them in my gameroom on the wall. How can I tell if they were some of the originals. They are in old frames but are in good shape.

    Comment by Sheryl | September 25, 2011

  8. Sheryl–I don’t know how you can tell. But I hope they are and you can sell them for a lot of money. Good luck.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | September 25, 2011

  9. I have about 9-11 of these paintings (not the originals) My grandfather had them in the early 50’s. I have been wondering if they were worth anything? They are all different sizes and they all are behind glass. I have had them since the 50’s. They are really fun to look at.

    Thank You……David …..Washington State

    Comment by David Lee | November 25, 2011

  10. Hi, I have some one of a kind picture like demision framed coolidge artwork found with some twain books. I would like to kno if there worth anything? There very old looking but in marvelous shape. Can send pics.

    Comment by Doug Y. | January 4, 2012

  11. Not sure. Maybe a visitor to this post will know.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | January 4, 2012

  12. I just love them! I`m a dog lover and I also paint. I`m probably the only one who sees some connection between this and Cezanne`s “The Card Players”.

    Comment by madeline | April 12, 2012

  13. I have 5 of the paintings, I would like to know if they are worth anything. Or should I just sell them in my moving sale?

    Comment by Monica Reed | April 25, 2012

  14. I’m afraid that I am unable to offer you any helpful advice in this regard.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | April 27, 2012

  15. hello i have the station and four aces no.pd7 do you know a cost of it

    Comment by sue mata | July 21, 2012

  16. […] Neil at Texas Liberal did not post so much this past week. However, Neil remains at work on a new website to be published this April to be called NeilAquino.com. This website will have a photo essay extolling the intellectual virtues of everyday life , a metaphorical history of existence, some poems and a blog about the 2013 City of Houston elections. For the TPA round-up this week, Neil has submitted a popular Texas Liberal post about the famous Dogs Playing Poker paintings. […]

    Pingback by Texas blog roundup for the week of March 4 – Off the Kuff | March 7, 2013


Leave a comment