Texas Liberal

All People Matter

I Saw Houston Mayor Annise Parker—Then I Saw A Chicken

A few hours back I went to the blogger lunch that is hosted each month by Charles Kuffner. Mr. Kuffner writes the top Houston and Texas political blog  Off The Kuff.

The guest at the lunch this month was Houston Mayor Annise Parker.

Below you see a picture that I took of the Mayor at this lunch.

The Mayor has her hand raised as she takes a pledge to read Texas Liberal each day.

No–I’m making that up. I’m not sure why her hand was raised. She was making a point about something or other.

The Mayor was quite cordial and took questions for just over an hour.

In the days ahead I’m going to offer some thoughts about Mayor Parker, and issues related to moving forward in Houston.

My thoughts will be less about what the Mayor said at the lunch today, and more about the need for an effective and constructive progressive and liberal opposition in Houston.

Not an opposition that simply exists to oppose Mayor Parker when she veers more to the right than need be.

But rather a more long-term, consistent and hopeful force that helps change the political climate here in Houston, so that we don’t see again Council Democrats passing a law that criminalizes many acts of sharing food with the homeless.

An opposition can “govern” in the sense of offering hopeful alternatives to what we get from people in “official” positions of power.

An oppostion can “govern” in a fashion if it develops the capacity for disciplined and effective advocacy and leadership.

This is what I want to talk about the days ahead.

After the lunch, I took a long walk along Allen Parkway here in the city.

I’d say I walked for about five miles. This long walk gave me plenty of time to think about stuff.

While engaged in this thinking, I came across a chicken.

I do not believe there was any connection between Mayor Parker and the chicken.

Below is a photo of the chicken–

Here is a close-up of the chicken—

My Uncle Tom in Providence, R.I. saw these chicken pictures on Facebook. He insists that this bird is a Rhode Island Red.

Based on this Wikipedia entry, I think my uncle is correct.

As a former resident of Rhode Island, I’m very glad to have seen such a bird.

Thanks to both Mayor Parker and to the chicken for a good and productive day.

April 14, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. There are about three chickens that hang out in the area around that CVS on Brazos and West Gray.

    Every time I see one of them, it completely lifts me out of my routine thoughts and worries.

    I mean, you can see the mayor any old day, but… a real live chicken on the outskirts of downtown Houston? Cool.

    Comment by katydidknot | April 14, 2012

  2. There are tons of critters along Allen Parkway. Bats fly out from under the bridges as night falls and Tinsley Park is full of rabbits at night. I am not surprised there are a few feral chickens roaming about.

    Comment by bacopa | April 14, 2012

  3. Not a random event. Possibly serendipity, but I doubt even the coincidental association.

    Comment by pdiddie | April 14, 2012

  4. Hmmmmmmm why do I find myself agreeing more and more with liberals?

    Comment by Paul Kubosh | April 16, 2012

  5. I know a chicken in Cincinnati that wears a Live United t-shirt.

    Comment by Newton | April 23, 2012

  6. Very good. I’m not aware that I’ve ever seen a chicken on the streets of Cincinnati.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | April 27, 2012


Leave a comment