Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Local Democrat Carl Whitmarsh Blasts This Blog (With Bonus Pictures)

Below is an e-mail sent out by local Houston Democrat Carl Whitmarsh to his extensive list of Democrats around the state. ( I don’t normally write in color, But this was the font Carl used, and copying his e-mail is making this full post in color. Color is good. )  Mr. Whitmarsh’s ire has been raised by a post I wrote yesterday asking if Houston Councilmember James Rodriguez can be trusted to be an effective representative for Houston.    

I surely never said Mr. Rodriguez was engaged in any so-called “wrongdoing.” I said that Mr. Rodriguez  helping a Republican who was considering a citywide run was how Houston is politically. It’s also not something I would do. 

I know it is shocking to ask if we can trust a politician. Whoever heard of such a thing?  Even more offensive were my brazen assertions that Mr. Rodriguez might take political steps to seek higher office at some later date, and ending the post by saying I remained hopeful that Mr. Rodriguez is an okay guy. What could I have been thinking!?! 

You’ll note that Carl never addresses why Mr. Rodriguez was supporting a Republican. 

 

From Mr. Whitmarsh  ( I added the pictures)  —

A Message from CARL WHITMARSH--One of the things about this email list is that I try to give everyone their say without too much of a say on my part.  I’m going to make an exception today because of the Over the Top Inflamatory Headline of the blog written below by Neil Aquino.  What earthly reason would anyone have to ask the question of Councilmember James Rodriguez, “Can We Trust Him?”  You’re going to have to bring a lot more to the table than a picture which appeared in a campaign brochure.  I’m not acquainted with Ms. Colon other than by her reputation, but I do know Senfronia Thompson – known her for 37 years – and I do know the lady on the left side of the picture, one Paula Arnold, former member of the HISD Board of Trustees and a former National Democratic Delegate.  Mr Aquino, maybe you were unaware, but during Ms. Arnold’s presidency of the HISD Board, she oversaw redistricting which effectively drew her out of her own district in order that Hispanics could have another representative at the table.  And of course I know James Rodriguez, as most of us involved have known him since he was knee high to a grasshopper and watched him grow, work through the different layers of government, campaign in the snows up north for Al Gore,  marry and settle down, offer himself for public office and now serves as a member of City Council.  If there is a word you associate with James , it is LOYAL!  WHAT IN THE HELL    POSSIBLE REASON WOULD SOMEONE ASK “CAN WE TRUST HIM OR NOT?” of JAMES RODRIGUEZ?  In reading this blog entry, I begin to think the writer is trying to resurrect McCarthyism  of the 2000’s…For shame….for absolute shame.  And for what imaginable reason could or should any of this have been written?

If you want to use your headline, why don’t you write about Borris Miles or maybe Jarvis Johnson – folks where at least allegations of wrongdoing have previously been made, but to write about someone like James Rodriguez, who has never even had a hint of wrongdoing attached to him is as far below the belt as I have seen a writer stoop.  If you have proof of something, BRING IT ON

While I am running this blog entry, I want it clearly understood I disassociate myself from it and stand here ready to stand with my friends, JAMES RODRIGUEZ, SENFRONIA THOMPSON and PAULA ARNOLD and will vouch for their good names and intentions and most of all their allegiance to the Democratic Party until the cows   come home.  Guilt by association based on a photograph is as sleazy as it comes……If you have an opinion about this entry by this blogger, who is also carried by the Houston Chronicle, write him directly at naa six-one-eight at att.net…….. cew……before somebody asks why I wrote this let me say…this is my email list and when folks I know, trust and care about are unfairly treated, I am going to come out like a cornered lion in their defense.

January 13, 2009 - Posted by | Houston, Politics | , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Good job Neil! As a citizen you are doing your job well. As for the politicians, I wish I could say the same.

    Knowing you so far, I know you don’t take it personally. I think Carl probably didn’t have a good topic for the day and he decided to stir things up a bit. The elections are over and it’s winter. It can get depressing sometimes and a bit of controversy probably brought a bit of sunshine to his day.

    This reminded me of President-elect Obama. Even as a supporter, If I criticize him for something, people seem to go nuts. What is the world coming to?

    Elected officials are PUBLIC SERVANTS! They should be questioned and I hope you continue to do your best Neil!

    Bring it on, indeed! 😉

    Comment by Saleema Gul | January 13, 2009

  2. Saleema–Thank you very much for your kind comment. I don’t think we should be blinded by party loyalty considering our elected officials. In fact, it would seem that Mr. Rodriguez and the other Democrats Mr. Whitmarsh mentions take the very same view!

    Comment by Neil Aquino | January 13, 2009

  3. Carl Whitmarsh has criminal history (look it up at the Harris County Courthouse for election related stuff)and he is a known trouble maker and just loves to stir up trouble and lives on the internet for the sole purpose of stirring up trouble. Clearly someone pays him to stir up trouble. He doesn’t hold a job. If you struck a nerve with Whitmarsh, then I would suggest there is merit to your feelings and he is trying to run you off before you get the full picture. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by Jessie Dockery | January 14, 2009

  4. its the same as asking if we can trust obama. we want his to wave a wand like a wizard and make everything ok. if obama can get the country to act like humans and change the way the act and feel and if he cant get them behind the idea that times are really tough because bush has destroyed all american dreams and values through his power mad 8 years that would somehow translate to sucess and trust and approval. he is not a magician he is a man and i hope all these people remember that when he cant teach old dogs new tricks and make america better than americans that this will somehow be his fault. People are still in a haze and they are going to see everything get much much worse before it gets better, it will take years to recover from what the last 8 years has done and americans are responsible for every last bit of what has happened. we let this asshole ruin our country and we gave up our rights and now we want to all win the lottery. Obama is not a lottery ticket and he will need everyones help to suceed.

    Comment by bill brady | January 17, 2009

  5. Bill—Obama will need our help to make things better. Just as Bush had so much of our help in making this mess.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | January 18, 2009

  6. we the people have made the mess and need to clean it up. its beyond bush, as easy it as it would be to blame him for everything the american consumer and the trade deficit we have is criminal.

    Comment by bill brady | January 19, 2009

  7. Yet there is a measure of truth in what Mr. Bush said about shopping keeping people employed. How do folks get off the treadmill?

    Comment by Neil Aquino | January 19, 2009


Leave a comment