Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Harris County Democratic Primary Runoff On April 13—Please Vote In Texas Primary Runoff Elections

There is a runoff taking place in Texas for Democratic candidates in races where no candidate reached 50%  on Primary Election Day. The Texas Primary was held on March 2.

Early voting for the runoff ends on April 9.

I won’t be early voting in this election because I’d have no idea who to vote for at the moment.

But I will vote on Tuesday, April 13. This is the day that the polls are open for runoffs across Texas.

You will need to check in advance where you should vote. Not all polls that were open on Primary Day will be open for the runoff.

In Harris County, Texas, the runoffs involve races for various judgeships.

Here are the endorsements of the Harris County AFL-CIO.

Here are the endorsements of the Houston GLBT Political Caucus.

The League of Women Voters also has a guide to the runoff.

Wherever you are in Texas, please vote in the runoff if such a vote is taking place. Think of the added impact your vote will have in such a low turnout election.

Beyond that, please think of your obligation to be an involved citizen in our society.

April 8, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , | Leave a comment

Harris County AFL-CIO Endorsements—Including Terrible Selection Of Edwards Over Miles

As I never weary of telling folks, I was in 1997 a Stonewall Cincinnati and Hamilton County, Ohio AFL-CIO endorsed candidate for the Cincinnati Board of Education.

Here in Houston and Harris County, the local GLBT endorsements get some notice. However, the Harris County AFL-CIO Labor Council endorsements get less play.

So–in appreciation for the  endorsement in Cincinnati 13 years ago, here are the Harris County AFL-CIO endorsements.

Please note however, that the pick in Texas State House District 146 is a terrible pick. Mr. Edwards has often sided with the most conservative and reactionary of Republicans in Austin. Borris Miles is the best selection in 146.

United States Congress
9th District – Al Green
18th District – Sheila Jackson Lee
22nd District – Doug Blatt
29th District – Gene Green

Governor – Bill White
Lt. Governor – Linda Chavez Thompson
Attorney General – Barbara Ann Radnofsky
Comptroller – No Endorsement
Land Commissioner – Hector Uribe
Agricultural Commissioner – Hank Gilbert
Railroad Commissioner – Jeff Weems
Texas Supreme Court, Place 3 – Jim Sharp
Texas Supreme Court, Place 5 – Bill Moody
Texas Supreme Court, Place 9 – Blake Bailey
Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2 – No Endorsement
Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5 – No Endorsement
Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6 – Keith Hampton
Chair, Texas Democratic Party – Boyd Richie

State House of Representatives
State Representative 146 – Al Edwards

County Administration
County Clerk – Sue Smith Schechter
Continue reading

March 1, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , | Leave a comment