Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Bumper Sticker

While doing some cleaning last week I came across the bumper sticker from my 1997 campaign for the Cincinnati Board of Education.

Though I did not prevail upon the people of Cincinnati to elect me to the school board, I’m glad to report that I was endorsed by the local AFL-CIO, UAW, SEIU, and Stonewall Cincinnati.

I did once win a race for precinct executive in Cincinnati. I think it helped me that I was the only person on the ballot for that high office in my precinct.

Every person has the ability to attend a public meeting, attend or organize a protest, write or call an elected official, talk to friends and family, start a blog, donate money, write a letter to the editor, engage in civil disobedience, volunteer for candidates and causes, and even to run for public office.

The work of freedom is up to each of us.

July 6, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I’ve noticed a change to your “every person” litany, with the addition of “engage in civil disobedience.” What do you have in mind?

    Comment by Matt Bramanti | July 6, 2011

  2. Nothing–But if I did have something planned, it does not seem that you would be the one I would tell.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | July 7, 2011

  3. Heh, that’s probably for the best. Surreptitious civil disobedience just doesn’t work.

    Really, though, I wasn’t asking if you were planning on civil disobedience — I was asking in the context of your litany, which was an exhortation to others. When you encourage people to “attend a public meeting,” your meaning is clear — go to the local city council or school board meeting, watch the process, maybe step up to the microphone and ask a question or make a statement.

    It’s less clear when you encourage people to “engage in civil disobedience.” What does that mean? Evade taxes? Chain yourself to something?

    Comment by Matt Bramanti | July 7, 2011

  4. You got my vote for Board of Ed!

    And thanks for continually reminding us that the work of freedom is up to each and every one of us.

    Comment by Newton | July 8, 2011


Leave a Reply

