Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Layers Of The Past—A Road Is More Than Just A Road

In the two months since my dad died, I’ve had some contact with relatives I’ve not had any interaction with for many years.

Not having much to do with family over the years, I’m still deciding to what extent I want to engage these folks.

Dad’s death seems to have dug up layers of the past.

Should I pave them over or not?

I was driving on Washington Avenue here in Houston a few days ago and I encountered this literal example of layers of the past.

Everything we do and everything we say has context. Each place we go is someplace visited by others before we arrived.

Layers of the past and the context in which words and actions occur can be dug up by taking the time to recall events in our lives, or to recall the history of a specific place or circumstance.

Layers of the past can be dug up events we have no control over such as the death of another person or running into an old friend on the street.

Layers of the past can be dug up by a public works street repair crew.

Metaphor and the physical world give each other meaning.

A road is more than just a road.

Expand your view of existence by seeing things both for what they are and for what they could possibly represent.

With a little effort this is a capacity that every person has the abilty to accomplish.

May 9, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. “A ropad is amore than just a road”

    More Zen there than even your usual.

    Comment by PDiddie | May 9, 2011

  2. I fixed it. But who knows–maybe I had it right the first time.

    I think I made the error because I was in a hurry to go watch The Simpsons.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | May 9, 2011


Leave a Reply

