Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Tom Wicker’s Account Of Eisenhower Presidency Tops Weekend Reading

Tom Wicker’s account of Dwight Eisenhower’s Presidency tops this weekend’s reading list. I would detail what I’ve read so far, but I’m almost done and I’m going to make it a blog post at some later point.

Wicker was a long time political reporter at the New York Times.

The Wicker book is simply titled Dwight D. Eisenhower. It is part of the American President’s series that had been edited by Arthur Schlesinger.

Schlesinger is now dead.  Click here for an obit.  Schlesinger wrote The Age Of Jackson.

Also, on the list is It Ain’t Over ‘Til It’s Over by Baseball Prospectus. This is an account of great baseball pennant races.

I’m a bit embarrassed to admit I’m reading this because those guys at Baseball Prospectus are a bit libertarian in their outlook and I should not be using valuable reading time on baseball. 

But I suppose everybody has their vices.

I’ll also be looking at my book about the world’s oceans called Ocean: The World’s Last Wilderness Revealed by the AmericanMuseum of Natural History.

It’s a great big book filled with both pictures and comprehensive explanations.  I can’t suggest it strongly enough for people interested in this topic.      

September 22, 2007 - Posted by | Books, Political History, Reading Lists, Sea Life

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

