Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Jean-Jacques Rousseau

 

I started reading Jean-Jacques Rousseau’s The Social Contract today.

Here is what Rousseau says on page one—

“Born as I was the citizen of a free state…., the very right to vote imposes on me the duty to instruct myself in public affairs, however little influence my voice may have in them.” 

Solid. Rousseau feels he must take part in public affairs by simple virtue of the fact that he is a citizen.  That is just the program.

I’ll be providing further updates on this 245 year old book as I move past page one.     

August 3, 2007 Posted by | Books, Political History | 2 Comments

Edwards, Obama, Gregory

 

I support John Edwards for President. I like his left-leaning focus on economic questions.

My next choice is Barack Obama. I think he gives people hope. We’ll see if he can live up to people’s hopes.

Issues? Specific policies? I don’t pay much attention.

I listen to the candidates and I get the drift. Life is fluid. Specifics are often not worth the trouble. One can have deeply held core principles and still go with the flow.

Once a President reaches office, events will occur and he or she will work to enact what general principles, compromise and circumstance allow.

The above picture is of comedian Dick Gregory. That is who I would have voted for in 1968 had I been old enough. Dick Gregory got 47,133 votes for President in 1968 on the Freedom and Peace ticket.  

August 3, 2007 Posted by | Political History, Politics | 2 Comments