Texas Liberal

All People Matter

The Two Times I’ve Met Former California Governor Jerry Brown & A Comment Brown Once Made Involving The Gong Show

In Houston, in Texas and in all places, the rich have too much influence over the political process. The best line I ever heard about this influence was offered by former California Governor Jerry Brown.

Running for President in 1992, Brown said the Presidential race was a gong show for the rich. He said that when the rich got tired of a candidate they gonged him out.  That is great imagery.

I’ve met Jerry Brown twice. Each time he was a bit sour.

In 1976, when I was 8, I met Jerry Brown in Providence, Rhode Island. Brown was campaigning in the Rhode Island primary. Brown and Senator Frank Church of Idaho had entered the race late and Rhode Island was one of the first tests involving Brown, Church and Governor Carter.

I asked Brown for an autograph. He gave me the autograph, but he came off as grumpy and aloof.

The next time I met Brown was at Cincinnati City Hall during his 1992 Presidential run. I worked for a Cincinnati Councilmember at the time. Brown was in town looking for support from elected officials.

I told Brown I had met him in Rhode Island in 1976. He reminded me that he won that primary. He was, as he had been 16 years before, somewhat standoffish.

Maybe Brown just did not like me.

Brown is currently the Attorney General of California.    

March 23, 2007 Posted by | Cincinnati, Political History, Politics | 6 Comments