Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Bloggers In Egypt Face Jail & Reasons For Caution On Attacks Of “Mainstream Media”

Far away from the freedom enjoyed by bloggers in Texas and in the rest of the United States, bloggers in Egypt are being put on trial for what they write and post.

A blogger named Abdel Kareem Nabil Soilman is on trial for his views on religion.

Other Egyptian bloggers are under government watch or pressure. Christian bloggers and pro-democracy bloggers have been harassed.    

The cause of Egyptian bloggers has been taken up by the group Reporters Without Borders.

I think that as a general matter, freedom for the so-called mainstream media and freedom for newer forms of information such as blogging, are linked. Egypt does not have a fully free press.

This is one reason I’m hesitant to take part in what I see sometimes as reflexive bashing of the mainstream media by some bloggers. (This does not imply I think newspapers are perfect. They are not.)

If freedom is lost by any form of media, it will also be lost across the board by all who work to inform the public.

The long-term goal for bloggers and more established media should be a partnership that serves the causes of news gathering and free involvement in public affairs.      

March 2, 2007 - Posted by | Blogging, Politics

3 Comments »

  1. Thank you for discussing this matter. I am another Egyptian blogger. I just started blogging last month. My goal is to reveal some facts and truths. If you go through my blog, you will find no post about my country. I am just talking about foreign topics. I once posted a topic at my blog and a friend told me that I MUST delete it or I will be in big trouble. I hope I can get out of here. Out of my home country. I wanna be free.

    Comment by Ahmed Ismail | March 3, 2007

  2. its hard to swallow the media in the states its sugared and watered down and tainted and sick and it serves a master other than the public. Please share with your bloggers some reliable truthful un bias(as possible) news sources to get hard facts and not left or right opinions. I think that most people want to hear about paris hilton and nascar not starving children and aids. maybe I am wrong but I suspect I am not. I do think most americans are decent down deep and would not want to think that they are particapating in the oppression and deaths of people all over the world but at the end of the day we all are in out consuming culture sucking the life out of many people in many parts of the world.

    Comment by bill brady | March 3, 2007

  3. This is one reason I’m hesitant to take part in what I see sometimes as reflexive bashing of the mainstream media by some bloggers.

    Is it unrealistic to expect any sort of human-run media outlet to be free of bias. I wouldn’t call it ‘reflexive bashing’ so much as whining (esp. coming from the right).

    The Left whines about Fox News, while the Right whines about everyone else and round and round they go.

    Comment by Laz | March 6, 2007


Leave a Reply

