Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Repeat Matches In Presidential Elections

Far from Houston, I recently read about the race for the 35th Aldermanic district in Chicago. The two leading candidates, Rey Colon and Vilma Colom, are running against each other for a third consecutive time.

This got me to thinking about repeat Presidential matches. 

John Adams and Thomas Jefferson ran against each other in 1796 and in 1800. Adams won in ’96 and Jefferson in ’00.

J.Q Adams beat Andy Jackson in 1824, but Adams lost to Jackson in 1828.

Henry Clay was one of the five main candidates along with Adams and Jackson in 1824. Clay then lost to Jackson in 1832.

William Henry Harrison was one of two Whigs to lose to Martin Van Buren in 1836. Harrison beat Van Buren in 1840.

Benjamin Harrison beat Grover Cleveland in 1888. That outcome was reversed in 1892.

William McKinley beat William Jennings Bryan in both 1896 and 1900.

Dwight Eisenhower got the better of Adlai Stevenson in 1952 and 1956.

Ross Perot took 19% of the vote in 1992 and 8% in 1996 in elections won by Bill Clinton.

Thankfully, we will be spared a John Kerry/George W. Bush repeat.  

February 26, 2007 Posted by | Political History | 3 Comments