Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Reach Out To Folks During The Holiday Season—On The Outside Looking In

556896_10200145643825241_259045406_n

Above is a picture I took a few days ago while at a bar in Downtown Houston.

In this picture I am outside looking in at people enjoying a gathering of some kind inside the bar. I was out on a porch.

I’m sure the folks in the picture are very nice.

This image made me think of people who may feel depressed or on the outside during the holiday season.

If you know such a person in your own life, you might consider reaching out to them during the holiday season.

And–of course–we should recall that folks can be lonely at any time of the year. Life is very difficult.

December 12, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Many years ago I went with friends to a resturant in an old Walgreens store at Main and Westheimer in Houston. One night we were sitting next to the window which was right on the sidewalk when a man who appeared to be homeless started tapping on the window and began to rant and rave. I told the people in our group to look away and not antagonize him that he was obviously crazy. The man entered the restaurant and came straight to our table. He began pointing at the food we had left and telling us what horrible people we were. He ask did we know people were hungry on the streets just a few blocks away. I have never forgotten the event. I have never left food on the table again. I always have the restaurant box it and on my way home I drop it with some homeless person. I generally have the restaurant add a little extra to it. He was not crazy, but it took his crazy antics to make me realize how heartless we can be without realizing it. I know before Marvin Zindler died he would have wanted to have me arrested for giving food I had left on the table to the poor, but I am also sure Marvin Zindler never went hungry.

    Comment by Fr. Thomas J. Martin | December 20, 2012

  2. Fr. Martin—Great comment. Nothing I can add. Thank you.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | December 21, 2012


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

