Texas Liberal

All People Matter

End Of Baseball Season

(Blogger’s Note 9/25/11—As it turned out, this game was the 200,00th game in Major League Baseball history.)

I’m attending what may be my final Houston Astros’ game of the season this evening. The regular baseball season ends next week.

I follow baseball but do not often write about in the blog. There is enough sports out there already .

The Astros’ are having the worst season they have ever had since beginning play in 1962.

That does not bother me very much as I simply like to attend the games and not worry about who wins or loses.

I’ve been fortunate to attend a number of baseball games over the years. In 1990, I was able to go to a World Series game in Cincinnati.

I go to between 15 and 20 games each season.

The picture above is of an Astros’ game earlier this season. I picked this picture because I like the patterns on the field made by shadows from the roof above at Minute Maid Park.

I would have voted against the public funds used for the construction of the stadium had I lived in Houston at the time. I did vote against public funds for construction of stadiums in Cincinnati

I voted against  public funds to build the Houston Rockets basketball arena in Downtown Houston. The first public vote failed. Yet the issue was brought before the public a year or so later and it passed the second time.

We just had to have our basketball arena.

The best web site to follow baseball is Baseball-Reference.com. Baseball-Reference.com is in fact one of the best web sites that I have seen of any kind.

September 24, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. We’ll let you root for our Rangers up north here and we’ll see if they can make it all the way this year.

    Comment by lbwoodgate | September 25, 2011

  2. We’ll see how it goes for Texas. I follow Tampa a bit because I like the reliance on pitching and the success in a small market. They are still hanging on.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | September 25, 2011


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

