Texas Liberal

All People Matter

I’m Thankful For Black People

Thanksgiving is almost here. This being so, it is time to reflect upon the things for which we are thankful.

One of the many things I am thankful for is black people.

So few black people are in the so-called Tea Party. Look at the pictures of Tea Party groups–You’ll see hardly black folks at all.

This is a good call by our nation’s black people.

I just finished a book called The Warmth of Other Suns. This book, written by Isabel Wilkerson, details the migration of black people from the south to the north in the 20th century.

Black people wanted out of the south because , as far as I can tell, the way blacks were treated in the Jim Crow south was little better than how Jews were treated in the Germany of the 1930’s.

Below is a picture I took in Houston yesterday. While I don’t know for 100% that the people who painted this fence were black, I do know that I took this picture in a black part of town.

Instead of going on about Muslims, immigrants and the government, the folks who painted this fence were looking  towards a better future.

To proceed in this way in these hard times ,and given the history of black folks in America ,takes character.

November 23, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. When I attended the book festival in Austin, I was fortunate enough to hear a talk by Isabel Wilkerson and Michele Norris. It was phenominal, and I hope to read both of their books when I get a chance.

    Comment by Sarah V. | November 24, 2010

  2. Sarah–Your comment was the 6,000th comment on Texas Liberal. Thanks your support of the blog. I’ve been eyeing reaching 6,000. You’re the perfect person to get me there.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | November 24, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

