Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Review Of State Of The Union Address—Waving Yams

This evening I watched President Obama’s State of the Union Address.

I thought it was a good speech. I was entertained up until the point where I got bored.

Here is a transcript of the speech. You have a brain. Read the speech and give some thought to what you think.

I was glad the President mentioned health care reform as an ongoing issue. We must press on with this fight so that people are covered when they are sick. It is terrible to be sick without coverage. How can we allow that in our wealthy nation. How can anyone of any political party wish that on anybody?

I was glad to see that the President had some fight in him. Though frankly what other option did he have at this point but to show some spunk?

I did though very much dislike the spending freeze idea. If you are going to be a far right-wing Republican, why not just be a far right-wing Republican? I’m holding out hope that the President is lying in some way about that idea.

I could spend some time writing an in-depth analysis of the speech, but the post would be stale not long after it was written.

I have other things to do.

I wrote a few hours ago what I had hoped to hear in the speech.

I’m still waiting for an adult discussion of the realities of the global economy with the American people, but at least I agreed with many of the policy initiatives the President offered.

I thought to myself this evening that if I were President of the United States, I would wave a giant sweet potato at the public and at Congress to show that I meant business.

Above is a picture me doing just that—Waving a giant sweet potato.

Look at what I learned from Wikipedia this evening—“In many societies yams are so important that one can speak of a ‘yam civilization’. Growing the tuber is associated with magic; the best ones must be given to the chief or king; there is a series of myths connected to a divine origin; a farmer may gain a lot of prestige by growing the largest or longest yam.”

Here are facts about sweet potatoes and yams.

Imagine the impact it would have if the President, Prime Minister, Chief, or King of a nation that held yams as central to their existence waived a yam at Congress or Parliament.

Maybe the Mr. Obama should have waived a hamburger at Congress and the people.

It would be great if our nation could be united behind ideas that I agree with if so prompted by important and specific foods.

January 28, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Give me a sweet potato with those little melted marshmallows or give me death!

    Comment by citizenx | January 28, 2010

  2. “you can go here if you want to help push hc through with a PO, you have a choice to call your rep or do nothing

    http://boldprogressives.org/

    Hi. A quick update…Thanks largely to grassroots phone calls, in 48 hours a whopping 63 House Democrats signed the letter calling for the public option through reconciliation.

    you can go here and put in your zip and they will tell you who to call if you are not sure who your congressman is”

    Comment by bill brady | January 30, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

