Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Advantages & Disadvantages Of Estrangement

The painting in this post is by an artist named Richard Diebenkorn. I’m sorry,but I don’t have the title of the painting.

One thing I like about this painting is the emotional distance evident between the two people while they are so clearly in each other’s presence.

A lot of times in life I talk to people I feel very distant from–Yet I can’t indicate the distance I feel.

The scene appears negative, but it shows a level of estrangement I wish I could show more often.

The woman in the picture apears on the defensive. She is standing and holding her arm while the man is sitting.

Yet it is likely that the man has caused whatever the problem is here. I hope the woman can recover the upper hand.

There is only one chair in the room that we can see. Should he not offer it to the woman? He lacks the confidence in whatever he is asserting to give up the physical advantage of having the one chair. The woman is totally revealed in front of him.

Richard Diebenkorn lived from 1922 until 1993. He is worth looking up and learning more about.

November 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. This 1957 painting is known as “Man and Woman in a Large Room” and is owned by the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington, DC.

    Comment by Andrea Liguori | November 5, 2009

  2. Thanks for the information. Very helpful.

    In the first version if the post I said there was no door in the painting. That’s what I get for blogging on the iPhone while my computer is down. There sure is a door. I’m glad the two of them have a way out of whatever the trouble is.

    Maybe the scene just seemed to me that it had no way out.

    If you click the name of the commentor above, you’ll learn more about the artist. It’s a link I’d normally offer, but this iPhone blogging is less than ideal for me.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | November 5, 2009

  3. Interesting to look out the door and see green grass and blue sky. Looks nice. Unlike the gray, uncomfortable, room.

    Comment by Sarah V. | November 6, 2009

  4. Yes—I had something about this on the first version of the post. I like the post still but I wish sometimes that I had more time.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | November 6, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

