Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Giant Load Of Cotton—I’m Open To Your Ideas

Above is a picture of the biggest load of cotton ever to leave from Houston.

That is 1.28 million pounds of cotton that was loaded on Houston’s Buffalo Bayou in 1899.

The cotton went down to Galveston Bay and then was transferred onto  a ship bound for Boston. 

Thanks to my out-of-town readers for sticking with me as I’ve made a number of posts on local politics of late. I figure I have the platform so I’d might as well use it.

I’ve got a bunch of ideas for the blog after our Houston city elections are over. And I’m always open to ideas from readers.

I will also take guest posts or pictures that you think are interesting.  

Thanks for reading Texas Liberal.

October 30, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

4 Comments »

  1. I’m starting a weekly “Texas photo” link-up on my blog. Basically, everyone will write a post on their own blog about a Texas-related photo of their choice and then all participants will link-up to each other. I’d love it if you’d join us. I’m hoping to start next week.

    That’s a lot of cotton. I assume it made it to Boston safely?

    Comment by Sarah V. | October 31, 2009

  2. I’m on board for that Sarah. Thank you.

    I would assume the cotton made it to Boston. Though I cannot be 100% sure.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | October 31, 2009

  3. it looks like a barge of cocaine coming from mexico to me

    Comment by bill brady | November 1, 2009

  4. I don’t think cocaine comes on barges. As far as I know at least.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | November 1, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

