Texas Liberal

All People Matter

I’ve Been Ethnically Profiled By The Harris County Tejano Democrats

I got a card in the mail yesterday from the Harris County Tejano Democrats. This group wanted to let me know who they were supporting in our 2009 Houston City elections.

Here is the web home of the Tejano Democrats. The web home could use a little work. Go to where it says “endorsed candidates” or “meet the officers” and you’ll see what I’m saying.  

People make mistakes all the time. I make mistakes all the time. Yet if you have a political website up two weeks before an election, please get it right.

I’m happy to hear from the Tejano Democrats—But I think I’ve been racially profiled.

Though my last name is Aquino, I’m not Hispanic. The name is Italian.  

On the side of my family not from Italy, I’ve got people off the Mayflower.

Maybe the Tejano Democrats sent out the card to all people in Houston who are of immigrant stock. 

The Tejano Democrats endorsed Gene Locke for Mayor of Houston. 

Why? 

Who knows? It does not say at the Tejano Democrats site why they endorsed Mr. Locke.

Could it be they endorsed Mr. Locke because he has been addressing issues of great importance to the Hispanic community in Houston?

No—The idea that Mr. Locke has been addressing issues of great importance to anybody is as likely as is me being Hispanic.

Mr. Locke, a Democrat, has been running around trying to get Republicans to vote for him in this election.

I’m not sure I want to know why the Tejano Democrats endorsed Mr. Locke. It is quite possible that the process was not very inspiring.

Anyway, if there is a meeting of the Very Liberal Italians of Harris County taking place anytime soon, could someone please get in touch with me. I’d be happy to attend.

October 24, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. A-Queen-o.

    Comment by PDiddie | October 24, 2009

  2. Are you sure that you got the card because of your last name? I’ve gotten endorsement cards from them for years. My last name is not in any way of Spanish origin.

    However, I have voted in Democratic primaries for years. Perhaps you voted in a Democratic primary at some time? Maybe that’s a more reasonable explanation of how you got that card instead of assuming it was the result of some sort of racial profiling.

    Comment by michelle | November 3, 2009

  3. You might well be right. Who can know for sure? Though what might be the case is that they took Spanish sounding last names from a list of primary voters.

    I see you’ve got your own blog. I’ve no idea how to add you to my blog roll from my iPhone, but I’ll Add you when I have a real computer again in the next week or so. Please visit the blog again.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | November 3, 2009

  4. I’ve read your blog at the chron a few times, so I know you aren’t originally from here. Perhaps that’s why you look at the Tejano part of the group’s name differently than I do as a native. It could also be based on where you live — what with Houston having neighborhoods that are traditionally predominated by one ethnicity or another.

    Comment by michelle | November 3, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

