Texas Liberal

All People Matter

I Was Accosted By Angry Weirdo Because I Was Reading Ted Kennedy’s Book

This afternoon I took a walk in Houston’s Memorial Park while reading a book. I often read while I walk when on the Memorial Park walking/jogging trail.

The book I read today was Ted Kennedy’s recently published autobiography. It is called True Compass–A Memoir.

One-third through the book so far, it is a title I can recommend. While an autobiography must often be taken with a grain of salt, there is a measure of candor. The Kennedy story is so well-known that readers can fill in some of the gaps on their own. 

More to the substance of what is gained by reading this title, it is interesting to learn how the Kennedy’s lived as a private family. As I get further along, I’d like to understand better how Senator Kennedy was able to maintain friendships with Republican Senators. Did he do it because it made him more effective as a Senator? Or did he really find a way to look past what in my view are frequent acts of evil by these people?  

Also, it is simply interesting to know what Senator Kennedy thought of the people and events he had seen over his life.

Here is the New York Times review of this book.

As I was walking in the park with my book, another man who was walking asked me what I was reading. This happens sometimes. 

This person was maybe in his 50’s.

I don’t mind talking to people, but what he asked me was—“What are you reading? About sex?”

I looked at him for a moment. I was uncertain why he thought I was walking around reading a book about sex.

When he asked me the question he did not know what I was reading. I think it would have been fine with him if I had been walking around the public park with a sex book of some kind.  

I showed the cover of the book. I said I was reading about Ted Kennedy.

This gentleman sure did go on when I told him this fact. He said “That’s terrible!” He went on about people being murdered for reasons of politics and about election fixing and on and on and on until I walked fast enough and far enough to be out of earshot.

He still might be going on.

I hope I had a hand in ruining this guy’s day.

Again, Senator Kennedy’s book is enjoyable and useful. Today it was useful in annoying a wacko.   

Here is the link to liberal magazine The American Prospect. It is always the right time to learn more about liberalism and to recommit yourself to liberalism.

Here is a post I wrote with links to facts about Senator Kennedy’s life and links to information about some of the causes he supported. 

September 24, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Next time make sure to tell them you are reading about sex and don’t forget to take the dust cover off.

    Comment by citizenx | September 24, 2009

  2. I think if I had told him I was reading about sex that he might have wanted to start a book group with me.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | September 24, 2009

  3. Never engage anyone who thinks bringing up sex with a total stranger is acceptable. Just get away from them.

    Comment by Jasper | September 24, 2009

  4. Glad he wasn’t wacko enough to pull a weapon! Doesn’t seem like an unlikely scenario, all things considered.

    Comment by Newton | September 24, 2009

  5. Amen to Jasper. Anyone who introduces the topic of sex even before names have been exchanged is at a minimum crazy, and likely dangerous.

    Comment by JayZee | September 25, 2009

  6. or just a simpleton with nothing else to say.

    Comment by bill brady | September 27, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

