Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Birthday Message—We Age And Then Die So Make Use Of Days In-Between

Today is my 42nd birthday.

Below is a picture of me when I was 12. At the time I lived in Providence, Rhode Island. You see that I have a book in my hand and a measure of attitude. I’ve not progressed much in the 30 years since this photo was taken.

Now here I am at 41. The picture below was taken in Newport, Kentucky last month at the immense punk rock blast.

There you have one person over 30 years. Think what you will.

We age and then die. Hopefully, we give the days in-between some meaning. Hopefully, we have decent private lives and make an effort to be of use to the world as a whole.

My own view is that our personal and public lives are connected. We can’t just care for the people close to us and not care about others.  For us to have good personal lives, we must live in a place that is decent and where public services and public benefits are provided.

I feel I’m at least trying to have a good personal life and trying to be of vaue to others in the wider world.

Thank you for reading Texas Liberal.

September 15, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Happy birthday Neil!

    And many more.

    Comment by citizenx | September 17, 2009

  2. thanks for the pic i dont think i have seen pics of you young before. hope your birthday was nice. i was crazy working in miami sorry we did not talk.

    Comment by bill brady | September 18, 2009

  3. Citzen X and Bill–Thank you both.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | September 19, 2009

  4. You wrote:

    My own view is that our personal and public lives are connected. We can’t just care for the people close to us and not care about others.

    For us to have good personal lives, we must live in a place that is decent and where public services and public benefits are provided. I feel I’m at least trying to have a good personal life and trying to be of vaue to others in the wider world.
    =============================================

    I would commend you for saying this is your “own” view, however your political action negates that position. In fact I see no difference between your religion and that of many of the conservatives who have their views of what a “good life is” – I encourage you to live that good life, and take care of as many people as YOU can, and honor whatever your faith may be, set examples for others – but leave the rest of us to do the same. I don’t want your moral code forced on me anymore than I want Jerry Falwell’s or Ted Haggerty’s.

    I don’t necessarily agree that our personal and public lives are connected, or that I must care about others. Facts are – there are some people, even in my own circle of family and friends I must completely ignore in order to continue to help others. Some people are self destructive regardless of the level of support around them. Some are just evil. I will not exhaust myself, abandon hope in humanity, or and deprive a helpless individual of food, love, and assistance in order to pretend to make life “fair” for someone who would take advantage of, or steal from those who need me.

    If your religion guides you to do otherwise – I’m glad you find peace in that – just don’t try to FORCE others to share your faith.

    Comment by fpintx | September 19, 2009

  5. You can behave as you wish in your life, but public policy can be used to require that you pay taxes for the common good. I often support these taxes, even as they take money that requires the hours of our lives to earn, because this is my concept of society.

    You have no choice but to pay these taxes regardless of if you care for others or not. If your unwanted obligation to pay taxes is a manifestation of my moral and political views that are expressed when I vote for candidates who support the use of governnment in society—I have no problem at all with that.

    Thank you for your comment.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | September 20, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

