Texas Liberal

All People Matter

So That People Can Have Jobs, I Avoid Doing Online What I Can Do With A Real Person In The Real World

To the extent it can be avoided, I never do online or on any automated system what can be done with a real person in the real world.

Working people need to help other working people keep their jobs. 

Some examples—

I don’t have direct deposit of my paycheck at work. The bank teller needs a job.

When I book a car rental, I do so over the phone and not by computer.

I take the real paper at home instead of only reading the online edition.  When I go out of town, I put delivery of the paper on hold by calling someone in the circulation department instead of doing it by computer. 

I try to buy things in stores and not online. I’m not perfect in this respect, but I do pretty good.

When I go to the racetrack with my father when visiting back home in Cincinnati, I use the ticket window staffed by a person to make a bet and not the automated ticket machine.

At the airport parking lot when it is time to pay up, I go to a booth with a person in it rather than to a  no-person exit.

When calling the cable company or the utlilty company, I hit the zero on my phone until I get a person.

I use computers in my life. I use technology in many different ways. I know many will value what they define as convenience over the the benefits of helping create work for people to do.

Some may need the savings that, sometimes, come from buying online. Though over the longer haul, when we have no work, it will be very hard to save money that we are not earning. 

I can’t do anything about what other people choose to do.

I’m simply saying that for myself, I try to use the services of human beings so that people will have jobs.

I ask you to please consider this course in your daily life to the extent  you feel you are able.

March 31, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. i HAVE BEEN STRESSING THIS ATTITUDE FOR SO LONG. I REFUSE TO USE SELF CHECKOUTS AT STORES BECAUSE CHECKERS NEED JOBS. THE COMPANY IS NOT GOING TO GIVE ME A DISCOUNT OR PAY ME A SALARY FOR CHECKING OUT MY OWN GROCERIES OR ERCHANDISE. SELF CHECKOUTS SHOULD BE ILLEGAL. I MAIL MY BILLS BECAUSE I AM A POSTAL EMPLOYEE. I SUBRSCRIBE TO MAGAZINES I RARELY HAVE TIME TO READ. I STRESS THIS IMPORTANCE TO MY COWORKERS ALL THE TIME WHEN THEY START TO TALK OF FEAR OF OUR JOBS. I TOO HIT “O” FOR OPERATOR WHEN DEALING WITH AUTOMATED PHONE OPERATORS. I TOO, AM NOT ALWAYS PERFECT ABOUT USING HUMAN OVER COMPUTERS, BUT I TRY VERY HARD TO HELP SAVE HUMAN JOBS.

    Comment by JOHANNA ELLIS | March 31, 2009

  2. I’m with you, Neil and Johanna, except I’m not given a choice re. paycheck deposit. And, besides the job issue, talking with real people, e.g., in the bank or grocery store or wherever, helps create community and connectedness in a way that computerized transactions never will.

    I know my postal workers – both the ones at the neighborhood post office and the ones who deliver my mail. I know the tellers/associates in the bank and I know how helpful they are to an older friend who goes there as well. And, when they don’t see him around, they ask how he’s doing.

    My primary grocer does a good job of hiring people with disabilities, including one of my neighbors, and older adults. Could I sometimes bag my groceries faster myself?
    Probably. But I’d be cutting someone out of a job and an ability to derive a measure of independence and self-esteem.

    So, Neil and Johanna, stay on this soapbox. It matters.

    Comment by Newton | March 31, 2009

  3. […] Working people need to assistance alternative operative people keep their jobs . Original post: So That People Can Have Jobs, we Avoid Doing Online What we Can Do … Filed under: Main Tags: a-real-person, done-with, extent, help-other, keep-their, […]

    Pingback by So That People Can Have Jobs, I Avoid Doing Online What I Can Do … | Jobboard.org.nz | April 1, 2009

  4. Hello Neil,
    So true about the importance of interacting with people instead of computers. I sometimes do opt for the “easy” way of buying stuff online though. No hassle of long lines and crowds of people. Like you know, I have been in several countries and dealt with all kinds of people. And to tell you the truth, Americans can be…(how can i say this)…hard to approach at times. I am not speaking of someone in particular, just a general thought. There has been several instances where I receive bad customer service. But I do enjoy very much talking, meeting and knowing new people. So if people are willing, so will I.

    Comment by Marisol | April 1, 2009

  5. Thanks for these helpful comments. I’ll offer a more full response when home from work later today.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | April 1, 2009

  6. I’d like to take a contrarian view. The marketplace evolves, and jobs must evolve with it. People will usually elect for efficiency, and there’s very little we can do to stop this, nor should we necessarily. I always think of the example of the car putting the horse-drawn carriage out of business. Some people might have chosen to keep taking carriages to keep the carriage drivers in business, but there’s no way enough people would. Workers need to adapt their stills to a changing market–instead of carriage driver, mechanic. I do think people bear some responsibility for looking to improve and learn new skills that people will pay them for.

    Comment by Julie | April 3, 2009

  7. Julie—I think a difference with what is going now in comparsion to the example you give is that when horse and buggy times ended, the making, fixing and driving of cars provided many jobs. There may have been a time of dislocation for folks in-between the fall of one and the rise of the other, but jobs were created.

    What I see now is jobs simply going into the thin air of automation and online. What will be the new source of jobs? I’ve never seen a good response to the question of where many of us will be working when we are doing so many things online.

    Thank you for your comment.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | April 3, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

