Texas Liberal

All People Matter

What Is The World’s Biggest Insect?

Two nights ago my wife asked me to put outside a tiny bug that was crawling around our home. We did not kill the creature as all it wanted to do was crawl about and live. Now if it had been bigger and more scary looking…well we might have picked an alternate course.

Please don’t think the wife could not put the bug out herself. It’s just I was around and I should be good for something.

The little bug got  me wondering–What is the world’s biggest insect?

Deadlymantis.JPG

The picture at the top of this post is the answer to that question. It is a bug that is 55.6 centimeters long. How long is that? I don’t honestly know. Here is some information on the metric system if you’d like to figure it out. I think that what we can be certain about is that the bug in the picture is long enough.

Here is a story about the bug in the picture. The article says that the bug is nearly as long as your arm. Maybe this is not the heaviest insect in the world, but it does appear to be the longest one.

It lives on the top of trees in the rain forests in Borneo.  It is newly discovered and is called Chan’s Megastick.

If the wife and I saw this bug at home, we would leave and let the bug have the place.

February 18, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I think a 22 inch bug would wig me out as would a two inch bug

    Comment by geo | February 18, 2009

  2. I just moved to Texas and can’t stand the bugs! Up north our bugs go away in the winter and we have a reprieve – not here! Sorry, but bugs aren’t allowed in my home!

    Comment by peter | February 18, 2009

  3. A bug that big is scary! Many years ago, I came face to face with the largest cockroach I had ever seen. Being the real man that I was, I turned around and ran for my life. I could have sworn that the monster was chasing me. I have been a katsaridaphobic ever since.

    Comment by lastpersonleft | February 19, 2009

  4. George–It seems you should stay away from all bugs.

    Peter—Up north they do die in winter. Here they are immortal.

    Lastperson–I had a flying raoch land on me a few years ago. I took it okay but I still do think about it.

    Thanks for all these comments.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | February 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

