Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Person I Shared Meal With Did Not Thank Busser For Removing Plate From Table

In recent weeks, I’ve had occasion to share a meal with someone at a restaurant, who, when a busser came to clear the plate for this person, did not say “thank you.” 

(This person was not the wife. Nor is it any elected official I have recently broken bread with.)  

Needless to say, when I saw this behavior I thought I had gone back in time to a barbaric age.

I notice this kind of thing. I think many people do. I bet the busser did.

Here is a link to Ms. Manners. Here is a link to Ms. Manners’ Guide To Excruciatingly Correct Behavior, Freshly Updated. It is a great book. I’m glad to say I’ve read it cover to cover.

If someone provides you a service—Please do thank them.

December 18, 2008 - Posted by | Books | , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Some people just grow up without good examples, I guess. I’ve been with people who thought it was OK to leave a fast food tray with trash all over the table rather than carrying it to the trash. They apparently thought they were above bussing a tray.

    People who go through checkout lines, talking on their cell phones the whole time, who act offended if the cashier dares interrupt their conversation to communicate about the transaction… Those folks need some intervention.

    Comment by Whosplayin | December 18, 2008

  2. THAT absolutely infuriates me when I see someone do it. Blithely ignoring waitstaff doesn’t prove you are above them, it proves you are an asshole.

    I usually correct them. You should try that with this asshole.

    Comment by Mcblogger | December 19, 2008

  3. Whosplayin—Yes. I see these things and remain surprised they occur. I just don’t know what will change it but at least we can make our points here.

    Mcblogger–Maybe you could come to my meals out with me and offer a stern talking to for such offenders.

    Thanks for both comments.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | December 19, 2008

  4. I agree – that kind of behavior is ungrateful and thoughtless. Having done a bit of waitressing in my early days, I can tell you that every “thank you” is meaningful.

    Comment by AmyEmilia | December 21, 2008

  5. Yep–Thanks for the good comment.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | December 24, 2008

  6. I like your blog, write more please! :)

    Comment by Lisa | January 10, 2009

  7. your entries are really interesting.. i especially agree with this one! Everyone deserves to be thanked.. just cuz its their job to pick up dishes doesnt mean they shouldnt be appreciated right!

    Comment by Luke Van Holt | January 10, 2009

  8. that’s a good point luke! hey just wondering, do you drive a van?

    Comment by Lisa | January 10, 2009

  9. The way I like to do things (in work and in life), is to lead by example. If my friends could be more courteous, I try to be very courteous around them, in hopes it will rub off. And it does. Especially when you are treated with returning courtesy and kindness. Sometimes to drive it home to people I don’t know as well, I make a little observant statement like, “It’s gotta be hard to do this every day. Hopefully that made it a little easier.” I think comments like this are both non-combatitive and the kind that draw one out of their own world.

    Great blog entry!

    Comment by BeNice Creator | January 20, 2009

  10. Be Nice—Nothing I can add to your good comment. I’ve put your blog on my blogroll. Please visit here again.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | January 22, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

