Texas Liberal

All People Matter

People Who Owned Mean Rotten Dog Now Won’t Take Down John McCain Sign

Not far from a home I lived in for many years in Cincinnati, was a house where was kept a horrible mean dog. Every time I would walk past that house, this big terrible dog, which was kept tied up outside, would bark and lunge at me.

I hated that dog and I despised the people who keep such a dog that scared people who were just passing by.

In my most recent visit to Cincinnati, which ended yesterday, this same house had in its lawn a John McCain sign. They have this sign up even though the election was over three weeks ago.

It’s been a few years now, but I’ll bet you the same rotten people live in that house.

I’m glad that dog is dead now. And while I don’t wish harm to come on the people who live in that house, I will say they are the same miserable rotten folks they were a decade ago.

November 29, 2008 - Posted by | Cincinnati | ,

10 Comments »

  1. ** I’m glad that dog is dead now. And while I don’t wish harm to come on the people who live in that house, I will say they are the same miserable rotten folks they were a decade ago. **

    You come off as kind of miserable and bitter too here, actually.

    I hope whatever is bothering you improves. It’s not healthy to harbor grudges and resentments.

    Comment by kevin whited | December 1, 2008

  2. If anything, this post was more moderate than it should have been. Rotten people. Lousy dog.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | December 1, 2008

  3. It’s funny ‘coz it just so happened that I passed by a house whose “Obama-Biden” sign is still up. I was thinking, “Okay, he’s elected. You can take the sign down.” :)

    Comment by Ella | December 2, 2008

  4. But did those folks ever have a Cujo dog that wanted to kill you?

    Comment by Neil Aquino | December 2, 2008

  5. let me know the next time you have a dog problem in cincinnati my neighbor is the dog catcher and he can take care of it for you :) as far as the palin mccain sign they can leave them up as long as they want i remember kerry signs up a year after, faded and survived the winter. hatred is ok as long as you express it and let it out. Dont keep it bottled up.

    Comment by bill brady | December 4, 2008

  6. I don’t think we have a problem with repressed hate and anger in America.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | December 5, 2008

  7. i think we do. i think the pc world we live in its hard to express ones self without being lumped into a group as a sexist, racist, whatever the word is for anit religion or pro religion, i think that people take words sometimes too serious, people are too quick to be offended, to be defensive, to cry foul, i think overall the country is very repressed and expression is limited more everyday.

    Comment by bill brady | December 5, 2008

  8. I was not clear in my comment. What I was trying say was that people seem to have little problem in expressing hate and bad feelings. I think we let in out in blog chat rooms or in how we drive all the time. We take it out in the way you mention–in how we take quick offense when we feel slighted. If some channels are closed–maybe for good reason in many respects–other channels are always there for people to express anger.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | December 6, 2008

  9. expressing and letting it go are two differnet things. i think flipping the bird or yelling at someone or honking only add to the real anger and they do not let out what is at the core of the hatred. what the core is and how its hardwwired or not is hard to tell. expressing and really letting it out and keeping it out are two different things all together. i try to let things go but my heart and mind are a boiling pot with a light lid and all these years i am still full of fire and hate.

    Comment by bill brady | December 7, 2008

  10. Well….I just want some better behavior from folks.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | December 8, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

