Texas Liberal

All People Matter

We Are Seeing The Mountaintop

Here is what Martin Luther King said regarding mountains in his I Have A Dream  speech in 1963–

“This will be the day when all of God’s children will be able to sing with a new meaning, “My country, ’tis of thee, sweet land of liberty, of thee I sing. Land where my fathers died, land of the pilgrim’s pride, from every mountainside, let freedom ring.” And if America is to be a great nation this must become true. So let freedom ring from the prodigious hilltops of New Hampshire. Let freedom ring from the mighty mountains of New York. Let freedom ring from the heightening Alleghenies of Pennsylvania! Let freedom ring from the snowcapped Rockies of Colorado! Let freedom ring from the curvaceous slopes of California! But not only that; let freedom ring from Stone Mountain of Georgia! Let freedom ring from Lookout Mountain of Tennessee! Let freedom ring from every hill and molehill of Mississippi. From every mountainside, let freedom ring. “

And here is what King said about mountains in his final speech delivered the night before he died in 1968 —

“Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it really doesn’t matter with me now, because I’ve been to the mountaintop. And I don’t mind. Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the Promised Land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land!” 

If we elect Barack Obama today, we won’t quite have reached the peak Martin spoke of in 1963. But we will have climbed past a point I never thought I would see reached in my lifetime.

Far more than color, it’s about, after all these years, an affirmation, as visible as possible, that every American is a full American no matter what.

I’ll leave you with a picture of swing state Rocky Mountain peaks in Colorado. Let’s hope that tomorrow freedom is indeed ringing from those high peaks and from all peaks in our great nation.

 

November 4, 2008 - Posted by | Campaign 2008, History, Martin & Malcolm, Politics | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. No matter who wins freedom will be ringing, Dems do not have a monopoly on that either:

    http://kovacsminutes.wordpress.com/2008/11/03/hope-change-a-final-look-at-obamamccain/

    Comment by kriskovacs | November 4, 2008

  2. Republicans had a chance to make a case based on something other than fear and leaving people behind and, instead, chose not to make that case.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | November 4, 2008

  3. Very nice piece. Thank you for posting King’s words.

    And may my vote count.

    Comment by Newton | November 4, 2008

  4. Your vote will count and all our votes will count on this great day.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | November 4, 2008

  5. Great post Neil! Today is a great, historic day regardless of the outcome, and King’s words ring as prophetic today as they did 45 years ago.

    Comment by DP | November 4, 2008

  6. DP–Start blogging again!

    Comment by Neil Aquino | November 5, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

