Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Wife Is Certain To Realize I Exploded Bowl Of Clam Chowder In Microwave—I Must Now Deflect Her With Positive Clam Chowder Memories

I was making a bowl of clam chowder in the microwave a few minutes ago when I heard a big pop.

The chowder exploded all over the inside of the microwave. 

No matter how well I try to clean this mess, my wife will know what has happened.

My wife, who is the best wife ever, is a kind and forgiving person.

It’s just that I know I’m going to leave some clam bits hanging off the top of the oven and that I won’t come near to getting rid of the clam smell. She has been working very hard today and does not want to come home to a big clam smell.

And I am always making some mess and this just might be all she can take from me. 

Oh no…I just went and made an effort to clean the mess. There is chowder gunk and exploded clams everywhere.

I could try to blame the electric company for restoring our power yesterday after a few days in dark due to the recent hurricane. This would have never happened while we were unable to turn on the microwave.  

But I don’t want to “point fingers” and play the “blame game.” No—I won’t go that route.

Instead, I’m going to remind her of the nice clam chowder she and I ate at the Union Oyster House in Boston just a few months ago. You see above the picture of this famous restaurant. My hope is that by shifting her thoughts to positive clam chowder experiences, I will be able to temper her justifiable consternation at my misdeeds. I’ll remind her that I did not spill or explode any of the clam chowder in Boston.

Those who know the wife and myself might counter that she is no fool and that I am a mess-making wreck.

That’s all true. I’m just hoping she forgets all that and just focuses on the time clam chowder brought us happiness.

September 19, 2008 - Posted by | My Wife Is The Best Person Ever | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. hahaha, i hope it works.

    at least you have power!

    Comment by turtle | September 19, 2008

  2. It won’t work–But at least I’m trying to clean it and trying to distract her. That should carry me through until my next mess.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | September 19, 2008

  3. you are a mess neil

    Comment by bill brady | September 19, 2008

  4. I’m still trying to figure out how this could happen. A covered bowl? one of those Campbell’s microwavable thingees?

    In any event, at least you didn’t explode yourself or set the kitchen on fire. And the smell will fade away some day.

    Comment by Newton | September 19, 2008

  5. If the photo of Union Oyster House was your best gambit, I’m guessing you slept on the couch last night.

    It could be worse–one of my son’s friends burned some microwave popcorn to a carbonized black mass (which might be a good name for a metal band, but I digress) in our microwave a month ago, and we still smell burned popcorn every time we turn the microwave on.

    Comment by Brendan | September 19, 2008


Leave a comment