Texas Liberal

All People Matter

After Hurricane Ike Blog Post From Main Branch Of Houston Public Library

Greetings from the Downtown Main branch of the Houston Public Library. The people’s tax dollars are working well as I have a computer from which to make a blog post. I have 51 minutes left in this session before my time is up. Other citizens must be allowed to use the computer.

We can share even in times of trouble!

This is my first after Hurricane Ike blog post.

People sure do want government help when they need ice, or are asking if staying at a hotel during an evacuation will be covered by FEMA. 

Or when they need a computer at the Downtown Public Library. 

Our power has been out since Friday night. That was the night of the storm. I am writing this on a Tuesday afternoon. 

I know the absence of power is a great hardship for some. It’s been okay enough for us. We have a small battery operated TV. Late last night we watched this sit-com called Still Standing. The well-meaning but goofy dad told a boy that his teenage daughter had a crush on him. Needless to say, the dad spent the rest of the hour making it up to the girl.

The show would not be so funny in most contexts. But after three days of hurricane coverage it was funny enough. Anything that did not involve somebody suffering was good. 

The wife and I had plenty of food and water ready to go as Ike approached. Yesterday I had a marshmallow and peanut butter sandwich and a banana and peanut butter sandwich for dinner.

( The guy next to me just rubbed his eyes after touching these dirty keyboards. I bet he gets pink eye.)

My wife has been working since the day after the storm. I have not worked since the storm. I miss my wife when she is gone.

When she gets home at night I hand her a nice warm bottle of water and a granola bar. We turn on the camping lantern that is strong enough to light an entire room. Then we fiddle with the tiny TV to see what channels we can pick up. Just because we picked up a station the night before, does not mean we can pick up the same channel the next night.

(As a prank I try to convince the wife that the curfew is lifted and that she can go out after nine. I’ve yet to fool her.)

We’ve had water all the time. We have many bottles of water. The city water from the tap has been working as well. Not for consumption since the city has been telling people to boil water, but for toilet flushing. We had water saved up in buckets for that purpose. Yet it has been a relief not to have to worry about that issue. As long as you can flush your toilet everything else is okay.

I sure have not missed hearing about the presidential campaign. I’m making a point not to check on it in my hour session here at the library. I’ve been reading the paper, though averting my eyes at any campaign report. What a dumb campaign it is. I hope that when I am fully back in the world Senator Obama will have a 15 point lead. I hear also there has been some type of financial collapse on Wall Street.

Problems everywhere.

My parents in Cincinnati lost power from Ike as well. They are back up and running though.

The big issue from Ike is how people are doing in Galveston, Bolivar, and the Beaumont area. I’ve got my check book in my back pocket and I’m going to stop at the United Way office on my way home and offer a donation. I heard they were taking donations. So is the Red Cross and other agencies.

I’m also concerned for folks in Houston and elsewhere who are losing wages from not being able to work.

I’m down to my last 19 minutes and I want to check my e-mail. I hope people are doing as well as they are able to do. Good luck to all. I’ll likely come back to the library tomorrow and offer another post. Thanks for reading Texas Liberal.

September 16, 2008 - Posted by | Galveston, Houston, Texas | , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear you survived unscathed! Did President Bush come to visit you and Laura? I’m sure the people of Texas were greatly relieved to have him on hand.

    Comment by kate | September 16, 2008

  2. Welcome back to the world, TL. What a long, strange trip it has been.

    Comment by Melissa | September 17, 2008

  3. I’d like to ask all those people being rescued if they are Dems or Repubs. And if they are Repubs, tell them they are “on their own” and then shove them off the bus. Oh dear, that’s not very nice of me.

    Comment by Judith | September 17, 2008

  4. Good to hear from you Neil. I was starting to get worried.

    Comment by jobsanger | September 17, 2008

  5. Thanks for taking the effort to post. Unfortunately, up here in the Northeast, the only info about the aftermath on TV focuses on Galveston. CNN and MSNBC are guilty of showing only the sensational pictures, also, not the human suffering or even the inconveniences of being in a shelter or without basics. Occasionally, there is a 3 second video of people standing in line somewhere in the greater Houston area. It’s been hard to find out what’s happened to people, exactly.

    Comment by Terri | September 17, 2008

  6. Thanks for all these nice comments. I don’t have time to reply before my library computer session time ends. Am making new post for today.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | September 17, 2008

  7. Hello all having lived in Houston for 13 years my heart goes out to all in the city and also my favorite playground Galveston. I was in Rita 3 years ago in Lake charles and know the pain felt by all with no lights ,water etc. just hang in there when Bill White blows his top with the FeMa people Geroge W. will be handing out water and MRI’s LOL .Thank God and greyhound he’ll be gone in January. best to all and don’t drink the water till they give a all clear.paw

    Comment by patricia ann wood | September 17, 2008

  8. welcome back about time you got some power and sobered up :)

    Comment by bill brady | September 19, 2008

  9. Does anyone know if power is on for area code 77025
    brompton st.

    Comment by jw royal | September 19, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

