Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Person I Don’t Know Asks Me To Back Candidate I’ve Never Heard Of—I Do So Out Of Trust And Party ID

A few weeks ago I was asked to be a friend on Facebook by a person I don’t know. She’d noticed we had some friends in common on Facebook. She messaged me something along the lines of that if I knew such people, I was likely to share her political values.

The people we have in common on Facebook are liberal Texas political bloggers and a few others connected with Democratic politics in the Houston-area.

The conclusion this woman reached based on our mutual friends was solid. I accepted her friend request.

A few weeks later this woman asked me to join a Facebook group in support of a Laura Ewing for the Texas State Board of Education, District 7. I had never heard of Ms. Ewing. You can click the link to learn about Ms. Ewing, where in Texas District 7 is, ( It includes a good chunk of the Houston metro-area) and what the Texas State Board of Education does.

Since I had established trust for the person asking me to back Ms. Ewing, it was not much of a leap to join Ms. Ewing’s Facebook group. I’ve also listed her as a campaign I support as noted under my blogroll.

It was not just that I trust the person who made the suggestion I support Ms. Ewing. It’s also so that since Ms. Ewing is a Democrat, I can be reasonably certain she holds at least some views not so different from my own. Party identification is a shorthand to help voters navigate the complex set of issues that are at stake in any election.

The fact is that only so many voters are going to study what the Texas Board of Education is all about. Just tell me who the Democrat is, and I can move on to something else.

This does not mean I won’t vote for a third-party candidate—if one exists—or leave the spot on the ballot for this office blank if I find the Democrat running to be offensive. But for the most part, I just need to know who the Democrat is. I’m not going to be voting for any Republican in this age of a far-right Republican party.

Personal trust and party ID–These are good enough reasons for me to support Laura Ewing for the Texas State Board of Education.

September 2, 2008 - Posted by | Campaign 2008, Houston, Politics, Relationships, Texas | , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Thank you for your vote of support! I would be glad to send you some information if you will give me an email address!

    Thank you,
    Laura Ewing

    Comment by Laura Ewing | September 2, 2008

  2. Unfortunately, most voters can’t be bothered to pay attention to the “down ballot” positions. This has allowed politicians with creationist agendas to to gain a virtual majority on the SBOE. The upshot is that we can look forward to more dumbing down of science (especially evolution) and other subjects that they consider objectionable to their religious viewpoint, as well as challenges to the separation of church and state.

    Ms. Ewing is running against Mr. David Bradley who is definitely on the creationist side, and getting him off the Board would be a definite plus. It will be an uphill battle, however, since most of these creationist members were boosted into office and receive alot of financial support from special interests like wealthy San Antonio businessman Dr. James Leininger. (See the Texas Freedom Network report “The State Board of Education: Dragging Texas Schools into the Culture Wars” at http://www.tfn.org/site/PageServer?pagename=rrreport08 for the gory details.)

    Ms. Ewing will need all the help she can get.

    Comment by John Kingman | September 2, 2008

  3. Laura–I’ll e-mail you. Maybe you have a bumper sticker you can send me.

    Mr. Kingman–Very helpful comment. Thank you.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | September 2, 2008

  4. it would be nice if the creationist could create some jobs and proper education for the people of texas as well as all over the country. the whole idea that they want to say science is not founded and that creation is the only answer to everything is so arrogant and simple that if there was a god he would puke on them for their arrogance. they are desperate after so many thousands of years of ruling that this is the final grasp to hold onto the power they will never have again. its fun watching the demographics change daily in the country and the world. they will not be around to see what their grandchildren are going to do and hopefully its more than them.

    Comment by bill brady | September 3, 2008

  5. I am a student at the University of Clear Lake, where Laura Ewing is my Social studies methods professor. I know that the public schools of Texas need her. On her website it says that she is working today for our children’s future. I can’t even imagine in how many ways she is already helping, but I personally know at least one. One person can do only so much good in a classroom. I’m positive that Ms Ewing made a great impact on her student’s education while working in the public school, but I know that she is making an even greater impact on education by teaching me and the other students in her class to become teachers as great as her. The way she teaches us is much different then any other teacher I have ever had. Her methods work. I actually obtain information, the whole class works together as a team. Mrs. Ewing does not lecture, we discuss. She doesn’t discuss her election with us in class, because that is not what she is there for. I googled Laure Ewing after our last class meeting. The reason for me taking such an interest in Mrs. Ewing is because last week I saw the interest she had in all of us. Last week was our first week back from our Ike evacuation. In all my other classes my teachers stressed me out even more then I already was, we went back to school to find out how much work needed to be made up. The first week of school was so overwhelming. When I got to Mrs. Ewing’s class she made us all sit in a circle for a discussion. Our discussion had nothing to do with work , school, due dates, papers, or test. Mrs. Ewing wanted to know about us, and if we were ok from Ike, where we evacuated to, where we took our kids, if they learned anything, and if there was anything she could do. We discussed our children and how they felt, she told us more about what we needed to do to make our children relax and feel more comfortable with no power. She brought to our attention that our children are just as scared as we are, if not more. And well…. that their toys they thought might get washed away mean a lot more then we think they do. Mrs. Ewing is absolutely amazing and I know that she will make great teachers in anything she does now, especially if she is on the State Board of Education.

    Comment by Joanna Leyba | September 26, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

