Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Because He Made Me A Friend On Facebook, I Endorse Councilmember Peter Brown For Mayor Of Houston In 2009

As I’ve posted before on this blog, I’ll endorse any Democrat running for public office who makes me a friend on Facebook.

I do this out of a general tendency to vote for Democrats, a respect for the logical coherence of straight-ticket voting, a belief in the idea of political parties, and because , as the fact I’m blogging suggests, I want attention.

( As a blogger, I want to put forth my views, seek influence, gain attention, and obtain patronage. It depends on my mood as to which of these things I seek the most. While I think patronage may be hard to get, if  Mr. Brown is elected Mayor I will ask him for a job as Houston’s lighthouse keeper. I need work that won’t get in the way of my blogging.) 

Today I was made a friend on Facebook by Houston City Councilmember Peter Brown. Mr. Brown is running for Mayor of Houston next year. 

While Mr. Brown will likely be running against other Democrats in the first round of voting next year, he’s the candidate I was likely to support in any case.   

Now I’m certain I will support Mr. Brown. Please click here to view Mr. Brown’s campaign web page.   

Mr. Brown joins Texas House District 29 candidate Kevin Murphy on my endorsement list. Mr. Murphy made me a friend some weeks ago. 

I will add each campaign to my blogroll. I’ve created a new ” Campaigns I Support” list at the bottom of my longer blogroll.

Peter Brown & Kevin Murphy! Clearly the best!

July 3, 2008 - Posted by | Campaign 2008, Houston, Politics, Texas | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. facebook is silly and so is voting for a cat because he made you his friend.

    Comment by bill brady | July 13, 2008

  2. Silly often has a lot of value.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | July 13, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

