Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Truman, Morris & Obama—Being Of And Above The People

I’ve long had identification with Harry Truman. Mr. Truman was our last President who did not attend college. He had a personal library of many books. While I did go to college, I’m not, strictly speaking, a white collar worker. And I have many books.

I see Mr. Truman as a man who did the best he could with the knowledge he had. And, also, as a good representative of what average folks can accomplish. He was self-made to a degree, but did not have a chip on his shoulder when it came to helping others. 

In contrast to President Truman, Gouverneur Morris, a delegate to the Constitutional Convention and a Senator from New York, was not a champion of the average person.    

Mr. Morris believed in an aristocracy. I don’t. He also had doubts about the ability of average people to govern themselves. That I can understand.

I’d take Mr. Truman over Mr. Morris any day, but I can see where Mr. Morris was coming from.

Where does this mix leave me with Barack Obama?

I’d say he is the right combination of common origins and elitism to be an effective leader.

Mostly of the people and a little bit above the people at the same time. 

This is at least what I am hoping. 

June 20, 2008 - Posted by | Campaign 2008, History, Political History, Politics | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Oddly enough, there is some research that shows people prefer a leader who is “better” than them. Smarter, more assured, above them if you will.

    Remember Jimmy Carter’s “fireside chats”? I don’t think that worked for him. Especially in foreign policy matters, he seemed too small to handle them, too small to make us feel safe.

    As one person once told me, “I don’t want some one like me running the government, I want somebody smarter and tougher.”

    Comment by lightseeker | June 21, 2008

  2. smarter and compassionate is the combo needed. tough is all about the fight and the fight gets nowhere.

    Comment by bill brady | June 21, 2008

  3. I agree with you on Obama. I hate to say it, but I think a lot of the blather about Obama being an elitist has to do with the fact that he’s a black man who has the temerity to think that he can govern white people. There aren’t too many people who will come out and say this, but I think that’s where it comes from. When looked at within the context of other politicians, he’s really no more/less of an elitist than the rest of them.

    Comment by Big Tex | June 22, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

