Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Though Only 3% Of Water Is Fresh Water, We Can Still Make A Go Of It

This afternoon I came across the fact that only 3% of the water on Earth is fresh water.

I’ve seen that number before, but forgotten about it. 

It’s amazing that so many people and so much life is sustained by 3% of all water.

Sometimes, I feel that only a small percentage of my time is really useful to me and to others.

I know it is important that we sleep, go to work and go grocery shopping, but those things are not really what I want to be doing with so much of my time.

This is so even though sleeping, working and grocery shopping are not always that bad. And I am sometimes of use to others at work. ( At least I hope I am.)

And no matter what else, I know how lucky I am to have time with my wife, time with friends and family, and time to read, think, and work on my blog.

Still, I get frustrated once in a while that life is not fully what I wish it was.

Yet if six billion people can live off of just 3% of the world’s water, I suppose I can make a good go of things with the limited resources of time I have in my control.    

Here is the link to the UNESCO fresh water resource page. Water, like time, has great value.

The photo above is of Lake Laddjujaure in Sweden.

May 27, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. i think that stands true to beer as well. about 3% that i would drink.

    Comment by bill brady | May 28, 2008

  2. I’m not very picky about any kind of food or drink. I don’t like celery.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | May 28, 2008

  3. I do my part to conserve fresh water by drinking alcohol as often as possible. It’s a sacrifice that I’ve chosen to make strictly for the betterment of the planet, and at great expense to my liver.

    Comment by Big Tex | May 28, 2008

  4. Big Tex—What if we come upon a world beer shortage? What will you do at that point? How much can you give for others?

    Comment by Neil Aquino | May 29, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

