Texas Liberal

All People Matter

I Find Popular Obama Posters To Be Creepy

Fairy-Obama1

I’m all for Barack Obama, but I find these Obama posters I’ve seen in a number places to be creepy and propaganda-ish.

Propaganda-ish in the sense of making me feel I live in a dictatorship or some sort of George Orwell state.

Maybe it’s just me on the liberal side of the aisle—But these posters give a sense of why some have called Obama supporters cultish. 

Here is the story behind the posters.

 Images Obama  

May 27, 2008 - Posted by | Campaign 2008, Politics | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I have mixed feelings about posters like the ones above. On one hand, I actually like the way they look from a purely aesthetic standpoint. But they do sort of have that whole “workers of the world, unite!” feeling to them. I don’t necessarily think that was the artist’s intent, but still…

    Comment by Big Tex | May 27, 2008

  2. Yes on all counts to your comment.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | May 27, 2008

  3. Agree 100%
    I remember the first time I saw that poster I cringed and thought that the people that made it and the ones toting it around need to peruse a history book first.

    Those posters have had a negative effect on me and in my opinion been one of the few errors in his campaign marketing.

    Comment by citizenx | May 28, 2008

  4. they are pop not propaganda, there is a wharhol feel in my opnion, i think politicians are creepy not posters.

    Comment by bill brady | May 28, 2008

  5. I, as do many others it would seem judging by the prices on ebay, find the Obama posters compelling and appealing, not dissimilar to the ever popular, often provocative Vietnamese poster art of the 1970′s.Personally I find Shepard Fairey’s Hope’ to be srene yet uplifting, by implication, offering a chance to unify a fearful and fractured American people.

    Comment by anna petersen | June 9, 2008

  6. All right Anna—They are clearly working for many folks.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | June 9, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

