Texas Liberal

All People Matter

I Told Car Rental Agent That I Love Both Hindus & Muslims

I recently booked a car rental over the phone.

I use the phone instead of the computer so I can help keep people employed.

The rental car reservation guy, based on his accent and the fact the connection was lousy, was, I guessed, in India.

I want to keep people employed in India as well.

He seemed like a nice guy. He was telling me what a great deal I’d get if I rented this car or that car. It was quite a pitch. It was funny. 

I said to him–“Hey, where are you? India?”

He said–”That’s right sir.”

I told him that while I have never been to India, that I would vote for the Congress Party and never for the BJP.

Congress and the BJP are the two leading parties of India. Congress is currently in government while the BJP is in opposition. 

Broadly speaking, the Congress Party, for all its many flaws, sees pluralistic democracy as the underlying principle of the Indian state, while the BJP sees Hindu nationalism as the underlying principle of the Indian state.

Well–You know what side of the aisle you and I are on when faced with a choice such as that.

The political state and the operations of democracy must rest on the widest possible foundations.

The man in India told me he had voted BJP in the last election, but had been considering a switch.

I said that I love both Hindus and Muslims and that this pluralism was the proper basis of democracy.

Who knows if he agreed with me, but  he did seem to grasp what I was saying. I gave him credit just for that.  

It is always the right time for politics. It is always the right time to express concern for our Hindu and Muslim brothers and sisters and for all people.

Here is an overview of the current situation in India from the BBC.

And here is a link to Indian politics as seen by The Economist. If you click the country briefing link at the bottom of the politics info, you’ll find much more information.   

April 6, 2008 - Posted by | Good People, Politics | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. normal hindu and muslims correct. not the kind that blow themselves up and others in fanatic acts of shit. strapping explosives to mentally disabled women and rolling them into public squares and detonating them with remote control cell phones. I love the normal ones too. the normal white people that just want to live, the normal black people that just want to live, the normal asian and hispanic trying to live and be decent. all the other ones, the killers, the theives the corporate vampires,the ones that can change lives and dont, they can love themselves.

    Comment by bill brady | April 11, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

