Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Because Of Clinton Caused Climate, I Had To Sign Away Status As Obama Delegate For Texas Senate District Convention

On Texas primary night I went to my precinct convention here in Houston and was selected as an Obama delegate for the senate district convention.

This is part of the complicated and silly process used by Texas Democrats to select delegates to the Democratic National Convention.   

I was told on primary night that the senate district convention was likely to be in the evening. But it turned out to be in the morning and I must work in the morning.

So it goes.

I got a call this evening from the Obama leader in my precinct. The delegates for tomorrow’s convention from my precinct drew up a form for me to sign saying I had duly authorized my replacement by the alternate they had selected. 

This was because of the reports going around that the Clinton folks will have lawyers out tomorrow challenging the credentials of Obama delegates.

I’m going to support the Democratic nominee no matter who it turns out to be. It would take a lot to get me to waver from that view.

But I have to say I feel the majority of the suspicion and hostility at work here has come from Senator Clinton’s side. 

I don’t understand why this needs to go on when the national delegate math appears to strongly suggest Senator Obama will win the nomination.

Please click here to view Senator Obama’s campaign webpage. 

March 29, 2008 - Posted by | Campaign 2008, Houston, Politics, Texas, Texas Primary '08 | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Too bad you can’t go tomorrow, but you did the right thing. I just hope the Clinton folks don’t rig this thing.

    Comment by Purple State Pundit | March 29, 2008

  2. Thanks for the comment and for adding me to your blogroll. I’ve added your fine blog to my list.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | March 29, 2008

  3. That sucks Neil! What a waste of effort,

    Check out the ‘Hillary Deathwatch’ on
    Slate. I think they’ve now got her chances
    at a whopping 12%

    Grundy

    Comment by David Grundy | March 29, 2008

  4. They both have such clean hands. I think if you want to win you have to stoop down to a rove level. the republicans have lowered the bar so low that they have in effect brought the country to a new low level.

    Comment by bill brady | March 29, 2008

  5. I am disappointed. I have never met anyone who has voted (at least legally) three times in what is basically the same election.

    Comment by Newton | March 30, 2008

  6. Yep—I did want to vote three times. Maybe next time if nobody has the brains to change the process.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | March 31, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

