Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Johnny Castille Was A Union Member And A Liberal Democrat

I am sad to report the passing of my friend Johnny Castille.

Johnny was proud of his longtime membership in the United Auto Workers as a General Motors employee in Indiana.

He often referred to himself as a “liberal Democrat.”  

Johnny had also fought in Vietnam.

He was a member of St. Anne’s Catholic Church in Houston.

Johnny was one of the first friends I made after I moved to Houston in 1998.

Waiting for his full retirement benefits to kick in after leaving GM, Johnny took a job as a bagger at a local supermarket.

He and I struck up a friendship in the once or twice a week I would see him at the store.   

I’m sorry to say that after Johnny’s health no longer allowed him to work at the store, I did not do a good job in keeping in touch.

He left the store within the last six months or so. I made one effort to call him at home.

Johnny did not have a cellphone or a computer or an answering machine. 

I just should have kept calling until I reached him.

If you have someone you value in your life, try keep in touch with them as best you can 

January 30, 2008 - Posted by | Good People, Houston, Relationships | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I just found out today Johhny passe away. He worked for me at Randalls for almost 2 yrs. The last time I saw him about 1 year ago, all he wanted to do was retire and move to California. Johnny was a pleasure to work with, always having a winning attitude and smile! Johnny, I miss you my friend, anf hope to see you again one day.

    David

    Comment by Davd Horner | March 2, 2008

  2. Great comment. Thank you.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | March 2, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

