Texas Liberal

All People Matter

I’ve Been To A Half-Gay Wedding

While I have not been to a gay wedding, I have been to a wedding in which one of the participants was gay.

This was in Cincinnati, Ohio somewhere between 15 and 20 years ago.

Gay people can get married—even in Cincinnati—as long as they marry someone of the opposite gender.

That’s the catch.

Gay marriage is an excellent idea because people should have the right to marry the person of legal age that they choose to marry. Life is brutal and short. Why create barriers between people?

The groom was gay at the wedding I was at in Cincinnati.

An issue behind the wedding was, as I understood it, getting health insurance for one of the married couple. Though they were close friends as well.

Good enough!

I was not formally invited to this ceremony.

I just happened to run into the bride the day before the wedding and she said I should come. I knew her from around.

If you’re lucky, you had a point in your life when you could walk down a city street and know people. I guess I’m too old for that at 40–or maybe Houston is an inhuman place where people drive around a lot– but it sure was fun in my early 20’s.

I think anybody at all could have come to that wedding. That’s good.

People who include are good. People who exclude are jerks.

The couple was married in the above-pictured “Temple of Love” in Cincinnati’s Mt. Storm Park.

As I recall it, this detail is a bit hazy, they were married by some kind of “priestess.” I recall the ceremony being conducted by a woman in some sort of white flowing robe-like garment

Temple of Love is just what that thing is called—-

“Mr. Strauch designed the Temple of Love in 1852, which still stands as an outstanding landmark to Mt. Storm today. The white columns of this Corinthian style pergola, which can be seen on the east lawn, was once the cover for a reservoir that supplied water to Mr. Bowler’s seventeen greenhouses, gardens, orchards, and a waterfall and swan lake on which seven black swans swam.”

The flower girls were men in dresses. They handed out flowers and kissed guests on the cheek.

Now that’s good clean fun!

Later that night there was a reception in a loft in Cincinnati’s Over-The-Rhine neighborhood.

I ate squid and drank wine. I remember eating a lot of squid.

I got married in a Las Vegas hotel by a guy in a purple robe. For the reception we went bowling.

Please click here for the excellent photo of my wife in her wedding dress holding a bowling ball. My wife is the best person in the world.

People should be able to have the relationships they want.

People can define family any way they wish.

Any type of wedding ceremony is good. People can express their feelings in whatever way suits them.    

(Please click here to see how the gay lifestyle is taking over Galveston, Texas)

Below is a picture of Over-The-Rhine in Cincinnati. As you can tell, it is an older community. There is nothing of merit about the persistent poverty in this neighborhood. Yet I would not trust the forces of gentrification as far as I could toss them. I won’t pretend I have the solution to making Over-The-Rhine a better place. 

 

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | Cincinnati, Good People, My Wife Is The Best Person Ever, Politics, Relationships | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Here in Massachusetts, gay marriage is legal. Several gay and lesbian couples at my church have been married–real love-based marriages to same-sex partners. It’s been a very moving experience for me to talk to these people and see the boundless joy on their faces when they were finally allowed something that I’ve taken for granted all my life. Anyone who thinks gay marriage will bring about the death of society should come to Massachusetts, look in on those children they’re always urging us to think about (including the ones I know whose parents have finally been allowed to marry),and see that for most of us, life goes on pretty much as it always has.

    Comment by Brendan | January 23, 2008

  2. Brendan–Thank you for this fine comment. That sounds like a good church you have there.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | January 25, 2008

  3. My partner and I are a legally married gay couple in Massachusetts. We have been together for 7 year and married for 2 (since January of 2006). You can check out my blog on life in a legal Massachusetts gay marriage.
    Jos76

    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com

    Comment by jos76 | February 16, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

