Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Where In Life I Fit In

 

These are the times and places in life I’ve felt I was fitting in.

You’ll have your own list of where you fit in.

1. When I’m alone.

2. When I’m with my wife.

3. When I’m alone in a crowd. Such as sitting by myself at a restaurant reading a book or taking a walk along the ocean in Galveston.

4. When I’m reading. A good book to read is Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson.   

5. When I used to go to the racetrack. A racetrack is a place of such apathy that it would be hard not to fit in. I would go to River Downs in Cincinnati. I don’t go to Sam Houston in Houston. 

6. When I’m riding some form of mass transportation. A bus or an airplane. I’m just one of the people leaving one place and headed to some other place. I like airports.

When I was in college, I took a number of long Greyhound Bus trips to see friends. Cincinnati to Reno was my longest trip. That was a long ride, but it was fun. I remember I was reading a history of Hawaii on that ride. I can’t recall the specific book.

The bus in the picture says it is going to Atlantic City. I got off a Greyhound bus once in Atlantic City and some people were having a fist fight in the bus station.

I’m too old for that bus now at 40. I wish I get the people my age and older off that bus and on a plane.

7.  At the punk rock club. Those days are past as well.

8. When I’m talking to a waitress or a clerk at a store and no more is expected from me than courtesy. I’m good at courtesy.

9.  When I’m with the few people in life I’ve come to know well enough and like enough to feel at ease with. It happens with different people for different reasons.

That covers it.

Where ever you fit in, it’s okay. The person you are is okay. 

November 17, 2007 - Posted by | Books, Cincinnati, Galveston, My Wife Is The Best Person Ever, Relationships, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. universally personal :)

    Comment by ~Varangi | November 17, 2007

  2. Thanks for the comment. I like the phrase you use in the comment. I may use it for a post in the future.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | November 17, 2007

  3. welcome.

    sure…lemme know, wud luv 2 read it…

    Comment by ~Varangi | November 18, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

