Texas Liberal

All People Matter

A List Of People Who Have Died

 

I keep near my computer a list of people I knew from my 18 years in Cincinnati who have died since I moved to Houston in 1998. With a recent addition, the list is now up to 18.  

Since I was involved in politics in Cincinnati, some get write-ups in the paper when they die. One man I knew fairly well, John “Four Days” Mirlisena, was an elected official who just a few years before would have been well-recognized on the streets of Cincinnati.

Others are people I knew in my private life. I get word of their deaths through friends.  

This might appear morbid. Maybe it is morbid. Yet I don’t see it as such.

While many of us have conflicting feelings about important things, an attitude about death worth considering was expressed by William Jennings Bryan in his famous 1896 Cross of Gold speech.

 Bryan said—“The individual is but an atom, he is born, he acts, he dies….”

I go with that to an extent. We are here, we have our time and then we are gone. 

I find this list helps me focus on the importance of the relationships I have in life. It helps me accept the reality of change.

I find it helps me accept life in general.

October 11, 2007 - Posted by | Cincinnati, Politics, Relationships | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Isn’t William Jennings Bryan vilified as the bad guy in the Scopes trials?

    Comment by healtheland | October 14, 2007

  2. By some. Not by me. He was doing the best he could.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | October 14, 2007

  3. When did John die?

    Comment by Laura | October 15, 2007

  4. In 2004. Click his name and it will take you to the obit.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | October 16, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

