Texas Liberal

All People Matter

If Genghis Khan Came Back From Dead To Blog, Would He Have Something Interesting To Say Each Day?

 

If Genghis Khan or Leo Tolstoy or Sam Houston came back from the dead and started blogging, would they have something interesting or memorable to blog about 6 or 7 days a week?

I’m not certain they would. Does anybody have something interesting to write everyday of the week?

Are you the blog reader able to recall blog posts you read last week or last month? Do posts run together? Were they about news of the day and now maybe not so relevant?

I blog 6 or 7 days a week. Maybe it’s arrogance. 

I make a blog post and within a few days it is pretty much gone. It stays on the blog. It might have traffic directed to it by a search engine. Still, for most posts, the moment is past.

Old blog posts don’t quite die—But they do fade away.

So in the interest of reviving better posts I’ve made, I’ve put up three best post tags on the right side of the blog. They are under where it says “Categories.”

I’ve listed about 10% of all my posts. That sounds about right. When you get down to it, if one post in ten has some lasting value you’ve done well.

I also blog at Where’s the Outrage? and I have a featured political blog with the Houston Chronicle.

I imagine people start blogs because they want to communicate something in life before they die.

I think most people have something of value to communicate. I don’t know of much more basic than the need to communicate. More than anything else we do, communication is how we hold off the sadness and loneliness we know is never very far away.      

August 30, 2007 - Posted by | Blogging, Relationships

3 Comments »

  1. Neil, your blog really is one of my favorites and I’m glad you update as much as you do. I haven’t forgotten about posting here, either, I’ve just been busy with school starting. Soon very soon!

    Alex

    Comment by Alex | August 31, 2007

  2. Alex—You’re first-rate and smart as could be, and you can have the run of the place.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | August 31, 2007

  3. I think blogging is self serving and its also a way to scream to the world,whine to the world, cry out, bitch, moan. most of all if you are a good blogger like you are neil its a way to learn about the world. I think you have incredible integrity and you blog your opinion but you stay truthful and that is why your blog is the only one i go to.
    when the internet first started cranking in the late 80’s early 90’s i would go to chat rooms to chat it up with different folks. i quickly lost insterest in that. Blogs are similar where there are so many with a message of hate or sports or whatever. I am glad you have a blog its how we stay connected and i like what you have to say. thank you

    Comment by bill brady | September 2, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

