Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Regulate Houston Strip Joints—Sex Belongs In The Home

  

A recent federal court ruling strongly boosts efforts by the City of Houston to force strip clubs and other sex related business places to relocate if they are proximate to a school, church, day-care center or park.This ruling is expected to force the closure of at least some of these operations. 

I wish the nearest sexually orientated business were orbiting Jupiter. Sex belongs in the home. Or at least in a car between consenting persons.

I’m an ideologue and ideologues are often puritanical. Instead of being at the strip joint, what people need to be doing is liberating themselves and fighting for their rights.

Or at least reading a book.  

(What rights am I fighting for with the time I spend following baseball? None of your damn business—That’s the rights I’m fighting for.)

Also, the official line on my mother’s side is that my family is off the Mayflower. (How I miss most stores being closed on Sundays as they were when I was a kid in Rhode Island.)  So these impulses are in my blood.

But the story does not end there. The family tree is also said to include that great religious dissenter Roger Williams—The Founder of Rhode Island.

Williams (image above) wanted nothing to do with the ruling clergy of Massachusetts.

I can have puritan leanings and be a free thinker at one time. Politics is both circumstance and imagination.

I see the world as it is, consider the past, imagine the future, and self-create my political identity within those parameters. I have plenty of leeway within those parameters.

This self-creation is how I can be an ideologue and mentally flexible at the same time. If you don’t go with the flow you’ll have fewer friends. If you have strong views and can go with the flow your friends will think all the more of you.

So yeah….I have a right-leaning view on strip joints and at the same time I’m a Paul Wellstone Democrat.

It’s all in the mind.       

August 22, 2007 - Posted by | Houston, Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Nice to see you have a puritanical streak, LOL…

    Comment by Laz | August 22, 2007

  2. Yep… Books. That’s what people need. You think Lenin hung out at strip clubs? No way.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | August 22, 2007

  3. From what I understand the Soviet system was very puritanical

    Comment by Laz | August 22, 2007

  4. I’ve read that as well. Though I wonder at what point just about anything was allowed as long as it was not in public view. I bet a lot of behavior was allowed as a safety valve.

    A difference between Houston and the Soviets is that if the courts said the strip bars had the right to locate wherever, I would accept the process. I can have my views and I know that I’m just one person and I may be outvoted.

    In the Soviet Union no process existed that involved the choices of citizens.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | August 22, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

