Texas Liberal

All People Matter

What Do You Do With A Right-Wing Half-Brother?

My half-brother was in Houston yesterday on a work related visit. We had dinner at a hotel at Bush Airport before he flew back home.

He and I did not know each other as kids. He’s maybe six years older than I am. I’m not exactly certain of his age. As adults we see each other when circumstances permit. That might mean twice a year or it might mean three or four years without seeing each other.

My half-brother is very much to the right politically. That is, of course, his choice. He has some strong right-wing views on economic questions. Though, based on what he said last night, he at least has some problems with President Bush’s leadership style. 

I’ve never found it within myself to open up in any meaningful way to my half-brother and his family. In my view, shared values are an important part of relationships.  Including family relationships. Beyond that, I only have the energy for so much. Isn’t living in Texas enough?

I don’t know what “opening up” would involve. All I can say is that I’m not the same person around his family as I am around friends.   

I suspect I’m off course in how I’m handling this issue. Given the brevity of life, maybe some way exists to open the door a bit and see if a more substantive relationship is possible with these folks. 

July 27, 2007 - Posted by | Politics, Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Weird … I’ve also got a half-brother who is six years older than myself. While he generally tends to be in the right wing of my family makeup, the last time we had a family debate, his was about as all over the map as my worldview is.

    Comment by Greg Wythe | July 27, 2007

  2. No Greg…You’re on the right side of the aisle. Liberal as I may be, I’m for a big tent on our shared side of the aisle.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | July 27, 2007

  3. Every family has one or two of them… ;) Someone needs to write the book “How to talk to a Conservative – and you must!”

    Comment by Whosplayin | July 28, 2007

  4. Yep. Maybe so.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | July 28, 2007

  5. My youngest sister is as ‘liberal’ as they come, she even resides in Austin, though she dislikes the “Keep Austin Weird” slogan, lol.

    Though she and I have diametrically opposed worldviews, I cherish and treasure the conversations we have.

    As a matter of fact, our conversations, as a rule, tend to be more civil compared to the conversations I have with my other sister, who like myself is (by God’s grace) born again.

    Comment by Laz | July 30, 2007

  6. It is true that the knife often comes from one’s own side of the aisle. Et Tu Brutus?

    Comment by Neil Aquino | July 30, 2007

  7. That’s just the thing Neil, that my born again sister leans to the left politically though not theologically. This dichotomy has been a topic of some good conversations between the 2 of us.

    Comment by Laz | July 30, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

