Texas Liberal

All People Matter

I Blew My Chance To Stop “Pastor” Joel Osteen From Doing His Evil Works

My view is that if the Devil came to be with us, he’d come in the form of Houston -based TV preacher Joel Osteen. Coming as Pat Robertson, for example, would be very obvious and most people would be immune to his evil works.

How much smarter it would be for the Devil to come as this so-called “Pastor” Osteen. Pastor Osteen smiles, talks his happy talk, hits up the flock for money, and all the while the world outside gets worse and worse. If Pastor Osteen is not the Devil, he may well be doing the Devil’s work. 

A favorite book of mine is called The Prophetic Imagination by Walter Brueggemann. In this book Mr. Brueggemann calls for a church that confronts power and injustice, instead of a church that serves as an enabler of so many evils in our society. 

Maybe two years ago, I was reading this book while taking a walk in a secluded Houston park. While walking, I ran into none other than Joel Osteen. We were the only two people on that trail.

If I had thought quickly, l would have handed him the book. I could have of said to Pastor Osteen—“Pastor Osteen, here is a book about a God of justice you have never addressed in your TV sermons.”

Who knows? Maybe he would have taken it as a sign from God and changed his evil ways. Every time I see that guy on TV I think about how I blew my chance.     

May 28, 2007 - Posted by | Best Posts Jan.-June 2007, Books, Houston

16 Comments »

  1. You should have just thrown the book at his head while yelling “The power of Christ compels you!”

    At the very least, you would have had a great story to tell!

    Comment by john cobarruvias | May 28, 2007

  2. You are good about giving books to people!

    Comment by muse | May 28, 2007

  3. It would be great if you guys would try…. just sheding the light rather than screaming at the darkness. If you don’t think he is preaching effectively… why not… get on teh air and preach the truth… It is the power of God… right? Is cricticizing Joel replacing preaching the gospel. If I was the devil I would have the church fighting each other while I came in and did whatever I wanted to do… maybe the devil isn’t using Joel.. Maybe he is using great ministries like yours who have become so distracted by what you don’t like that you STOPPED preaching what you do beleive!

    Comment by David Thomas | June 2, 2007

  4. Joel Osteen has a sinister soul. I dont know why, i can’t tell you why i feel this way… there are just a few people in the world who i can see completely through in every sense of the word. under his skin is a dark, scaley evilness.

    Joel is going to move up in power, very soon, very quickly.
    in 2010 he will make a political move that will change the world and a large percentage of the population is going to follow his “golden vision” listen for it, he’ll be brainwashing everyone into it, but i implore you, dont put too much faith into the antichrist. he’s already here and when the elders come to initiate our third renaissance and the true owners of “alfa romeo” -take a look at their car logo and you can see for yourself who’s in charge here- come out into the public light it will be the end of our “interesting view” of life on this planet..

    much is going to change, i’m about to pass out. i hope these words make it to your eyes, for i can only affect a few people each day.

    j. ed. l.

    Comment by Edmond | October 22, 2007

  5. Maybe the reason people feel that Pastor Joel Osteen is evil, is because of two things. He’s made a huge profit in sharing his gift and knowledge with the world, and also the amount of people that he’s touched is enormous. My personal opinion of Joel Osteen when I first heard of him I wasn’t interested in anything he had to say, but that was because in those days I was living in the flesh. Now that I’ve started to read the word, and get a good understanding of the bible, I turn on the TV and watch Pastor Joel in a positive light. He’s so genuine,very touching to my spirit, and every time I hear his sermon no matter what I’m doing I have to stop and tune in, because I know he is truly a man of God, sent hear to do just what he’s doing, and so what he’s made such a huge profit off his ministry, he’s saving lives, and also preparing you for the eternal life. You have so many rich sports players not doing anything with their riches, but Pastor Joel gives back and gives generously so I commend him for all he does for us, even though some of us still reject the word, he keeps preaching and keeps teaching. Signing off now, but if Pastor Joel reads this message I’d like to let you know that I love you, and thank you for using your gift.

    Comment by MARCY | December 26, 2007

  6. Marcy–Thanks for the comment. I do think Pastor Osteen could give more to the poor even if you feel he is giving a lot to you in some sense.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | December 27, 2007

  7. I have had business dealings with Joel. I have personal friends that I trust who know him and his family well. Those that say such unkind things about Joel are no differnt than those that accused Jesus of casting out devils by the prince of devils. Those people where wrong, and so are those that say such things about Joel. I’m not saying that Joel is to be equal with Jesus, but the principle is the same. Joel has not gotten rich off the tithes of the people. He has touched the world with the gospel of Jesus Christ using money given by those he ministers to. He has written books and invested successfully, and in so doing, he has gained wealth. There is nothing wrong with wealth, and he has gained his honestly. Is he favored – absolutely! Is he the son of a successful pastor – absolutely, but John Osteen (Joel’s father) did not attract 48,000 people into Lakewood. At his best Lakewood was only 6,000 or so strong. Joel certainly benifits from his father’s work, but he is the real deal as well. This family has SLAVED for many years with only 100 to 200 people in their church. This great church that they have become is only a relatively recent phenomenon. Joel’s mother is a Cancer survivor by the grace of God. Countless numbers of people have come into the kingdom because of this family of preachers and all “some of you” can do is critisize them. I suggest that those that do this are jealous and unhappy people.

    Gil Delaney

    Comment by Gil Delaney | July 16, 2008

  8. Mr. Delaney—I’m sure many would agree with you. Thanks for the comment.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | July 19, 2008

  9. Pastor Osteen’s commitment to spreading God’s word is unmatched. He’s lifted my spirits and given my spiritual life a new definition. Envy and jealousy must not be used to discredit the good work of osteen

    Comment by Mark Onyango | October 1, 2010

  10. I only watch him whenever i’am channel surffing…looking for a late night movie or something..Being so depressed and lonely just me and my girl a pit bull named Deja Vu..Tears running down my face because of all the guilt i feel from all the years past…50 years old and now life (my life) is catching up to me..And after being out of work for close to 3 years there were many times i thought about suicide…and the only reason i stopped was because of Pastor Joel Olsteen
    every single time that the night haunts me and sadness and everything else that comes with it..consumes me Joel Olsteen is preaching exactly what i’am feeling..Now i’am not to religouse..i do believe in the lord..And if Pastor Olsteen is the devil…well then i’am believing in the wrong thing…everytime i see him something calm comes over me..and thats all i can say…”get behind me SATAN” because all i see are the good lord and joel olsteen..thankyou

    Comment by Leland Michael Lee | October 4, 2010

  11. you people sound stupid

    Comment by ida | November 18, 2010

  12. I think He uses God as a Pawn for earthly treasures . He mentions to not be ashamed of your wealth and that God grants his followers with Earthy treasures and money ? he says “you must wear your blessings well ” ? Showing your riches and not being ashamed of its impracticalities . People need spiritual leaders , Joel Osteen is not one of them . Him and so many others shroud the truth with there eveangelical, right wing , ignorance . People in America need to start thinking deeply about THE TRUTH and seek it instead of putting your faith in someone who is truly NOT A MAN OF GOD ! Study all religion and find out the secrets Joel wont speak of . Find out we all pretty much worship The Same Gods and religions older then christianity have some strickingly close stories to the HOLY BIBLE . I am Christian , I am a Muslim, I am a Jew and I embrace Hinduism and buddhism , I believe God does not need a mega church to get the point across and in the words of Jesus Christ “It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle then it is for a rich man to enter my fathers kingdom ” KEEP WEARING THOSE BLESSINGS !

    Comment by Ryan | January 2, 2012

  13. Appreciate the comment. Thanks.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | January 4, 2012

  14. all you people protecting joel osteen are the same as him you are on your way to hell if you don’t repent, only the devil and his children would protect the mormons saying that Jesus is the devil’s brother. Jesus is god, he created luzbel{devil} wich turn into the devil joel is very ignorant of the scriptures and whenever someone ask him about the bible his answer is:i don’t know or i don’t go there.

    Comment by abraham chancho | September 9, 2012

  15. Joel osteen message is dont be like them,be stronger,the new you,not the old.(before you found Joel, ) He talks as if every one there was lost, weak down and out .nothing like telling your 48,000 what you think thier life was before you gave them the power to stand tall walk tall, dont lisen to their negitive talk walk away.Why not comefront and become better friends at work or even at church.Joel seems to have people run away from the bad people at work or at the store (were every where) But he inforces as you run away your better ,your above them your now one with setting goals ..Jesus cant help the poor hartless people they work with or even their familys .Joel is smooooth but very cookie cutter .i feel he wants to say more ,but like on Larry King,could only studders with out his wife to save him in tight spots. seems like hes not sure what to say..Joel do you belive in Joelisem?..I DO..I DO. will a non beliver go to heaven? I cant make that decion, Yet. thats God department ..I think..I dont know .

    Comment by krry cook | October 14, 2012

  16. you should have whooped that ass !!!!!!!

    Comment by will | December 4, 2012


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

