Texas Liberal

All People Matter

My Very Good Phone Conversation With Melissa Noriega

With the constructive input of a fellow blogger, a post I made critical of Houston City Council candidate Melissa Noriega’s campaign has been turned into a more positive thing.

A few days ago I made a post criticizing the campaign being run by Ms. Noriega. I said Ms. Noriega was ignoring or glossing over critical issues in Houston. I said her campaign was failing to challenge or respect Houston voters and might well be taking voters for granted. 

My views elicited a measure of disagreement. Fellow blogger Greg Wythe suggested my concerns would be addressed if I called Ms. Noriega’s headquarters. In frankness, this simple enough idea had not seriously occurred to me before. Houston has two million people (Some of who may even vote in next month’s special election.) and I did not figure I’d get anybody who would listen.

I made the call Greg suggested. A very nice lady answered. After I told her why I was calling, she passed the phone to Ms. Noriega. Ms. Noriega and I talked for about 20 minutes.

Ms. Noriega, who was friendly from the start, said she had read my post and asked me to talk a little more about my gripes. I restated some of the points I’d made on the blog and also talked about a general frustration with a Democratic Party in Houston that rarely addresses some of our worst problems.

Ms. Noriega said, (I’m paraphrasing when I describe what Ms. Noriega said in our call), that it might be so that her campaign homepage does lack some specifics.

The most interesting part of our conversation was Ms. Noriega telling me that she is talking to people to help her define the role of a city council member should she be elected. She said she had a firm commitment to the daily nuts and bolts operation of the city. She also said that she understood there are important issues in Houston beyond what some might see as the core functions of municipal government.

Since Ms. Noriega was nice enough to listen, I told her that I view public office to be in many ways an act of or a province of the imagination. I said public officeholders can define their responsibilities as they see fit.

Or, at the least, officeholders always have the option to mix day-to-day issues of governance with other issues that may at first appear to be removed from the business at hand, but are in fact also directly linked to the lives of citizens. Ms. Noriega seemed open to this concept.

Ms. Noriega was both friendly and direct in our talk. I think it’s fair to say that she won me over in some respects. I asked her for a bumper sticker and I’ll put it on my car.

I’m going to vote for Green Party candidate Alfred Molison in the May 12 special election. I’ll do so because I’ve said I would and because there is value in supporting candidates calling for things not yet advocated by the major parties. (Here is a link to a post I made about supporting Greens sometimes as a buffer against being used by Democrats.) I’m also going to send both Mr. Molison and Ms. Noriega a $20 donation.      

I’m appreciative of Greg telling me to pick up the phone and I’m appreciative of Ms. Noriega’s time and her willingness to listen. If elected, I think Ms. Noriega will do a good job for Houston.    

April 20, 2007 - Posted by | Best Posts Jan.-June 2007, Blogging, Good People, Houston, Houston Council Election '07, Politics

9 Comments »

  1. Great, now can I go back to cracking on you for being too dadgum liberal?

    Comment by Greg Wythe | April 20, 2007

  2. I’ll wear that label as a badge of honor.

    Comment by neilaquino | April 20, 2007

  3. Vote GREEN!!!

    That will show them! Look how will it worked in 2000.

    Comment by John cobarruvias | April 21, 2007

  4. Thanks for the comment John.

    Comment by neilaquino | April 22, 2007

  5. Let’s hope that Ms. Noriega doesn’t find herself in the midst of scandal, like Houston City Council members who happen to be Hispanic (where is Hispania, anyway?) tend to do…

    Comment by Laz | April 24, 2007

  6. Right on! After 2008, I may go third party and take my time organizing. Depending on which way Democrats run. If they are only interested in keeping a “scorecard” majority that doesn’t do anything except keep Republicans voting for them, then I have no use for those types.

    As far as Melissa goes, she’s the real deal. Thanks for the talk you had with her.

    And keep questioning “Democrats.” I sure as hell do…like Lampson, Shit-Chet Edwards, and other anti-immigrant doofuses.

    Comment by Stace Medellin | April 24, 2007

  7. Damn right Stace. No group should allow themselves to be used like blacks and big city residents have sometimes allowed themselves to be used by Democrats. All people matter and no vote should be taken fro granted.

    Comment by neilaquino | April 24, 2007

  8. You know Neil, you have said this a number of times “All people matter and no vote should be taken fro granted.”

    Who the hell are you talking about that Melissa is taking for granted?

    I mean serious, who?

    Comment by John cobarruvias | April 25, 2007

  9. I’ve addressed it.

    Comment by neilaquino | April 25, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

