Texas Liberal

All People Matter

The Two Times I’ve Met Former California Governor Jerry Brown & A Comment Brown Once Made Involving The Gong Show

In Houston, in Texas and in all places, the rich have too much influence over the political process. The best line I ever heard about this influence was offered by former California Governor Jerry Brown.

Running for President in 1992, Brown said the Presidential race was a gong show for the rich. He said that when the rich got tired of a candidate they gonged him out.  That is great imagery.

I’ve met Jerry Brown twice. Each time he was a bit sour.

In 1976, when I was 8, I met Jerry Brown in Providence, Rhode Island. Brown was campaigning in the Rhode Island primary. Brown and Senator Frank Church of Idaho had entered the race late and Rhode Island was one of the first tests involving Brown, Church and Governor Carter.

I asked Brown for an autograph. He gave me the autograph, but he came off as grumpy and aloof.

The next time I met Brown was at Cincinnati City Hall during his 1992 Presidential run. I worked for a Cincinnati Councilmember at the time. Brown was in town looking for support from elected officials.

I told Brown I had met him in Rhode Island in 1976. He reminded me that he won that primary. He was, as he had been 16 years before, somewhat standoffish.

Maybe Brown just did not like me.

Brown is currently the Attorney General of California.    

March 23, 2007 - Posted by | Cincinnati, Political History, Politics

6 Comments »

  1. Brown was also, until recently, the mayor of Oakland, CA (I live in Berkeley, though many locals mistake my neighborhood for Oaktown). I’m 99% sure I saw Jerry on BART (our equivalent of the subway) a few months ago, on my way from Berkeley to San Francisco. It would make sense — taking public transit fits with the general image he likes to project. He was conducting some serious business on his cell phone.

    He was probably not planning a luncheon with Jello Biafra. As you may recall, “California Uber Alles” was a vehement attack of what Biafra thought Brown represented — a sort of New Age, laid-back fascism. Hmmm…from what I’ve heard, Jello has performed this song with some new lyrics: Arnold Schwartzenegger is the subject now. A man more worthy of contempt, I think.

    Comment by Greg B. | March 25, 2007

  2. My mother said, the funniest bumper sticker she ever saw about Jerry Brown.

    It read, “If its Brown, Flush it.”

    Comment by madmouser | March 26, 2007

  3. The amount of dough required to run for president is embarrassing, but then again I don’t think the system was designed for the average American to run/win the highest office.

    Comment by Laz | March 28, 2007

  4. I like brown he is nuts and we more nuts in office.

    Comment by bill b | April 1, 2007

  5. Glad to be part of this conversation, extended over so many years.

    St. Ignatius said that we should be in the world but not of it. I feel the same about politics.

    Comment by jerry brown | April 18, 2007

  6. Please stay in Texas.

    Comment by Clark | August 4, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

