Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Houston Astros Should Allow Patrons To Bring In Own Food Since All They Offer Is Overpriced Junk

Though I follow baseball and attend Houston Astros games, I’m reluctant to post about sports. Sports get enough attention.

However, one thing that merits additional attention is the Houston Astros policy against bringing your own food and drink into the former Enron Field.

I thought of this last week standing outside of Petco Park in San Diego. Posted rules at Petco Park state that you may bring in your own food and drink.

Astros games are expensive. A family of four buying what are lower-priced tickets at $17 a shot, and then paying to park and buy food is going to spend at least $125. And I bet that is a low estimate of what such a family really spends at a game.

The food at Astros games is overpriced and not very good.  The Astros play in a taxpayer funded stadium. The least they could do is let people bring in their own food and drink. This would make games more affordable and would allow people to bring in healthy food in contrast to the junk currently offered.    

March 22, 2007 - Posted by | Best Posts Jan.-June 2007, Houston

13 Comments »

  1. Outside of the time invested, this is why TV is the best way to watch sporting events…

    I’m with you, the food at Minute Maid is, pardon the expression, a train wreck and I can proudly say I have not been to a game there in nearly 2 years.

    Comment by Laz | March 22, 2007

  2. Ah, but Drayton McLane is hardly a Democrat whether it is his checks he’s writing or your money he’s taking. Remember this when you buy anything Astros-related, which includes sponsors of the TV broadcast.

    Comment by PDiddie | March 22, 2007

  3. I know that Mr. McLane is on the other side of the aisle. I think about that when I go to games just like I think about how the stadium was built with taxpayer funds and how the food sucks. It’s just that I can’t be mad at everything and I like going to the games. So I go. If I thought everything out I’d stay home all the time.

    Comment by neilaquino | March 23, 2007

  4. PDiddie, you sound like some of my well-intentioned Christian brethren who set out to boycott companies like Proctor & Gamble for perceived offenses.

    I agree with Neil, “If I thought everything out I’d stay home all the time.”

    Comment by Laz | March 23, 2007

  5. Hate baseball they charge more for tickets and drinks because the idiots keep paying them. Organize a strike and you might get hotdogs under 4.00 and if you are going to drink do it in the parking lot like the jockey club.

    Comment by bill brady | March 26, 2007

  6. i am lucky to have the option to go to spring training games…it is $5 for a ticket to sit in the outfield…you can bring your own blanket as well as food (no drink)…and you sit so close you can shake the player’s hands…but alas, the astros do not train in arizona…i have been to four games this spring training season…

    Comment by charley | March 26, 2007

  7. Food At Houston Astros Baseball Games Is Overpriced Junk

    If you are thinking of taking the kids out for a nice dinner at the ball game, think twice!

    Trackback by topGrubs.com | March 29, 2007

  8. I was just up until 4:AM this morning puking up my $8.25 chicken strips dinner. I’m missing a day of work because I’m still barely keeping toast down and only got about 30 minutes of sleep, whick took place on the bathroom floor. The Field Level seats, despite their pricy nature, are so close together, you’re hugging your knees the entire game, and have no cup holders or other convenient places to put your greasy food except for your lap.

    Comment by Jake | April 18, 2007

  9. That’s the thing about entertainment, it’s a total non-essential yet the people who put on the show can charge whatever they want, and who’s to blame them when people keep showing up to watch?

    Comment by Laz | April 18, 2007

  10. You just have to look for the deals… There is a little fajita stand out by the crawford boxes. The fajitas there are awesome and not expensive. One can fill you up, although i had two (i like to over-endulge.)

    Comment by jason | February 2, 2008

  11. Thanks for the comment—You might be right but I still wish I could bring in my own food.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | February 4, 2008

  12. THE FOOD IS NOT AS BAD AS THE MANAGER. CECIL COOPER MUST GO! HE HAS BLOWN ENOUGH GAMES THAT, IF WON (WHICH THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN); WOULD PUT THE ASTROS IN 1ST PLACE, NOW. HOW LONG WILL THE FANS TOLERATE THIS? AS LONG AS THEY CONTINUE TO BUY THE OVERPRICED FOOD AND DRINK?

    Comment by ALLAN | September 2, 2008

  13. I agree that Mr. Cooper is not so hot a manager.

    Comment by Neil Aquino | September 2, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

