Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Reasons A Big City Is The Best Place To Take A Vacation

I’m back in Houston after a great spring break in San Diego. For the following reasons, I always visit large cities for my vacations— 

1. Unlike smaller cities that may be more dependant on tourist dollars, or unlike a resort or cruise ship, a large city retains an identity outside of what visitors expect.

2. Connected to the first reason, workers in large cities have more options for employment beyond the whims of outsiders.

3. You can’t help but see a measure of real life in a large city. While I realize people take vacations to get away from real life, I enjoy seeing residential areas in places I visit. I enjoy seeing aspects of the overall nature of a place instead of just hotels and restaurants.

4. It is good to be in public view. When on a public sidewalk instead of at a resort or on a cruise ship, I am out with the random crowd. That’s the most democratic way to take a vacation. 

March 21, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. hey, did you visit the San Diego Zoo?

    Comment by Laz | March 21, 2007

  2. I did go to the San Diego Zoo despite my view that zoos are often depressing. I suspended my thoughts about zoos for that one day so I can report that I had a good visit.

    Not that the wild is such a nice and safe place, it is still difficult to see the pacing cats in a cage. Or see the giant birds of prey in a cage when they should be swooping around the Andes.

    The San Diego Zoo claims it is helping conservation efforts. I’m sure the claim has some merit. Though most zoo-goers are just looking to pass an afternoon.

    The San Diego zoo is a good way to pass an afternoon.

    Comment by neilaquino | March 21, 2007

  3. I share your view on zoos after visiting the Houston Zoo as an adult for the first time a couple of years ago.

    We did take our son a couple of weeks ago and he enjoyed it immensely.

    I’ve heard about the San Diego Zoo and how good it is, I’m guessing it’s better than our local one here.

    Comment by Laz | March 21, 2007

  4. I like the big city. Chicago Los Angeles Seattle, like the busses and homeless and the starbucks. Cant stand fucking crickets and nature and trees, yes we need them I just dont care to go see them.

    Comment by bill brady | March 26, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

