Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Obama Can Visit Houston If His Motorcade Does Not Disrupt My Commute

The 2008 Presidential race is in full swing and it is sure is tedious.

Senator Barack Obama is swinging through Houston and Austin. At this point Mr. Obama can’t have a very large traffic-disrupting motorcade. So I guess his visit is okay.

However, if Mr. Obama delays my 40 mile daily round-trip commute for even a minute he will lose my potential support. What do we need all this campaigning for so many months before any real votes are cast?

TexasLiberal supports the ghost of Paul Wellstone for President. I got a letter today from Wellstone Action saying it is time for me to donate again. That is exactly what I will to do.

My support for the ghost of Paul Wellstone will continue until such time that the race for President is something less than a waste of time to follow. I can’t imagine that will be any time before the World Series.

I can’t claim I’ll ignore the whole thing. Yet I know that I have books to read and walks to take instead of following a full year of our so-called leaders ass-kissing millionaires for campaign loot.

Already Senator Clinton and Senator Obama are in some kind of stupid snit involving zillionaire David Geffen. Mr. Geffen, Mr. Obama and Mrs. Clinton can buzz off if this is what we have to look forward to for a whole year.  

February 23, 2007 - Posted by | Houston, Politics

8 Comments »

  1. What are you doing living out in the suburbs with all those nasty Republicans anyway?

    Comment by PDiddie | February 23, 2007

  2. I live in the city and commute to the suburbs. Though really the most nasty Republicans I’ve found live in the city. Republicans with money can be pure mean, while more working class Republicans are sometimes so bogged down by day-to-day life that they don’t have the energy to be mean all the time. I’ve also met a number of chip-on-the-shoulder annoying think-they-know-it-all Democrats in the city.

    I’m just wary in general at this point.

    Comment by neilaquino | February 23, 2007

  3. Sounds like you ought to consider moving out there, then.

    In any event, Obama won’t disturb your commute, since a) he was here and gone late at night; and b) an outbound commute wouldn’t stand a chance of being interefered with by anything but the usual construction or accidents anyway.

    Comment by PDiddie | February 23, 2007

  4. Don’t these 2 (Mrs. Clinton and Mr. Obama) realize that if they ran on the same ticket they’d ensure a Democrat win in ’08?

    You think they’ll do that?

    Comment by Laz | February 23, 2007

  5. While we may not agree on politics we do seem to agree on the timing of this mess. And the fact that there are meanies in both parties. And the walks, and reading. And I have a wife to talk to, grandkids to play with, dogs to pet, a cat to make purr and movies to watch. And briskets to barbecue. I’ll start getting concerned with the presidential race a few months from now next year. It’s not like Texas plays a great role in the nomination process.

    Comment by Myron | February 23, 2007

  6. In response to the above three comments–

    1. Obama did not disturb my driving in any way and will still consider supporting him for 2008. I will not however leave Houston in any case because my dry cleaner is here and she does a great job.

    2. I don’t know if Mrs. Clinton would run with Mr. Obama or vice versa. They might have so much anger worked up by then that it would be off the table.

    3. I would rather pet a dog than read all the stuff about the 2008 race.

    It is very nice for all you to comment on this here blog.

    Comment by neilaquino | February 24, 2007

  7. I’m sorry to all you Americans who have to suffer two years of electioneering. It must be exhausting.

    Comment by Sam | February 25, 2007

  8. It is imprudent to waste such enormous amounts of money and energy bullshitting the American Public. HWat happened to the good ole days when a man’s word was his honor?

    “I’ll be as hardy of mind as I am of body.

    I’ll be a straight-shooter and a square-dealer.

    My family name will be sacred

    My word will be as good as any contract.

    I’ll remember the Alamo.

    I’ll stick by my friends.

    And I’ll eat more chicken-fried steak.”

    http://parkdalebank.blogspot.com/2007/02/were-from-here-we-still-like-to-do.html

    Comment by Kenedeno | March 4, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

