Texas Liberal

All People Matter

Considering A Bjork Song In The Context Of The Ancient Greeks

Driving on a not-so-nice Houston freeway, I was listening to Bjork sing a song called “All Is Full Of Love.” She repeats the title of the song over and over. I wasn’t moving so quickly on the highway and I had time to consider what Bjork was asserting.

I’ve been reading a book called Early Greek Philosophy. It’s one of those Penguin Classics books. The book consists of the remaining fragments of the writings of long-ago Greeks. 

The issues the philosphers deal with are elemental. What do things consist of? What is the best life? These questions have value when it can be so hard to believe anything anymore. Maybe it would be best to return to the most basic questions and start all over again.

Bjork’s lyric that “All Is Full Of Love” makes more sense than it may sound. I often consider the fact that the atoms which comprise inanimate objects arise from the same place as do the atoms of which I am comprised of. With this in mind, it may not be so far-fetched to grant human or organic qualities to non-living things.

I wish I could fully agree with Bjork. I don’t really think that all is full of love. However, I do believe that a combination of imagination and understanding of the world around us can lead people to a more humane vision of what existence is.

So good for Bjork—She’s at least on to something.               

February 15, 2007 - Posted by | Books, Music, Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Here here. I like Bjork. I think what you say is right on target to her intended meaning. I hear it to- a Connecticut Liberal

    Comment by dailymuse | February 15, 2007

  2. The atom is far more complicated than we originally surmised. The funny thing is that “bigness” is easier to grasp than “smallness”.

    We can see the universe is a big place and wrap our head around that idea, but it is far more difficult to imagine particles that are as small as an atom.

    Then it gets pretty dicey when we try to think about subatomic particles and the the particles which make up these particles and so on… It seems that “smallness” is harder to grasp than “bigness.”

    Sorry man I don’t know where I was going with this… LOL

    Comment by Laz | February 21, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

